We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels very unloved and unkept!!! Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed there numerous times but not in the last 3 yrs! Outside looked ok! Then went entering the room smelt old. Wot was nice! Nothing, the pool was dirty and cold and in major need of a paint! Pool area looked unloved broken trellis broken pool tiles and pool furiture broken and not even placed nicely! Our rooms cobwebs everywhere, cigarette butts still in ashtray, weeds and mould and broken framing in spa pool area. Pull out beds that looked like hadn't been changed in yrs and smelt even the blanket had a square cutout hole, curtains fell off track, wine glasses really dirty, holes in wall that had just been tapped and repainted, tiles broken, vanity dirty and the put out couch had two major stains my kids wouldn't sit on them, the carpet looked even dirtier and had heaps of stains! I could keep on going! Didn't say anything as just wanted too get out if there! Conference centre and bar didn't even looked like it was opened again and had missing letters! Tennis court looked like no one had used in yrs!!! Totally disappointed for what we paid!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Hotel is very much loved.

I am surprised you felt the pool was not clean as we have maintained it to a sparkling blue, it has been extremely well used recently and we currently have the pool cleaned twice a week.

I do appreciate the pool furniture seems to unevenly placed, I do personally move the furniture back every morning, but guests do move it to suit their own needs.

The tennis courts are also well used, I do appreciate there are leaves on the court, but these are regularly swept up.

We do appreciate the pool fence needs to be updated and we are currently getting quotes to have this carried out, we will be making an announcement in the next few weeks to let guests know when it is completed.

We are currently moving to replace the pull out couches with divan beds.

As the walls are painted, we do of course touch up any repairs or damage to walls. We can not prevent damage to walls and as you can see we have repaired damage to a wall and repainted the wall.

We appreciate the housekeeping issues you ahve raised and we will be addressing those issues with our housekeeping department.

Once again thank you for your comments and feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the firs motel we stayed in at the start of our road trip and so far the worst! Upon first inspection it looked OK and we thought it would be comfortable enough for a night. However we later discovered that the floor, including the carpet was sticky, the glasses etc had a funny smell to them and worst of all the bed, pillows and linen smelt as though they had not been aired in years. The young lady on reception was rather aloof. When we asked if we could only stay one night she asked if it was because she had opened the door to our room by mistake as she thought the unit was vacant - we pitied the people that she disturbed! The phone in the room did not work, when we checked out we had to pay cash as the machine did not work. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We do appreciate your feedback

We do apologise for our eftpos machine not working, whilst we were processing manual forms, some customers did prefer to settle the account in cash.

The machine is now operating perfectly.

We do use a lemon air freshner in the rooms, and the hired linen also has a lemon smell, so we are not quite certain as to what you are referring to.

We will certainly raise your comments with our housekeeping department to see what improvements we can make.

We do wish you a pleasant stay for the remainder of your trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I arranged this hotel for my daughters when they were visiting Rotorua for 3 nights. The room is of fair size, beds and amenities were fine. Pool is great with hot water spa. The decor is a bit old, might come through during the refurbishment. Free breakfast is alright @NZ standards. Very convenient with good car parking space. All staff at Front desk and Room service/maintenance were very courteous and helpful.

Unfortunately they had to return early due to an accident involving a member of our family and the Reception staff advised them to call Hotel Club and a refund was arranged immediately, which is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with views; they are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Totally unacceptable standards. We sourced the hotel on the internet and decided to book because of all the facilities it offered. Upon arrival, I enquired as to when the 2 rooms booked would be ready and heard a rude mumble in the background that wont be ready until after 12.00 which was fine for me to come back, I just wanted a time frame! Went back to check in with the pleasant woman on reception and then we proceeded to our room. Found both of the rooms to be very shabby. Miss match furniture, light bulbs not working, doors and windows that did not shut properly, broken light fitting on the shelf in the bedroom in place of the missing tv, stained carpets, general smell of mould, curtains that fell off the end of the rails when using them, shower that either ran scalding hot or freezing cold.
I opened a kitchen cupboard that had already been broken off its hinges and had just been put back which fell out and landed straight on my toe causing severe pain and bruising. Upon checking out I explained this to the receptionist who went and got the manager. Everything that I brought up was just dismissed with a feeble explanation and when I mentioned the cupboard door and showed him my bruised and blackened toe I received no apology. I felt that he was too busy trying to defend his run down hotel.
We were charged a premium rate for this experience. The general public areas were also poorly kept, the swimming pool looked dirty with the trellising around it in need of repair, the tennis court looked like it had long since been abandoned with the surface in dire need of repair, huge piece of it ripped up and massive holes in the net and fence. The so called gym was just an old treadmill and outdated excercise machine. The spa facility was closed until further notice, just a sign on reception advised of this.
Would not go back to this hotel, ever!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

I do wish to express my appreciation for your feedback.

As you explained to me at the Reception desk this is a very difficult time for you due to a family crisis that occurred on your holiday, and I appreciate it is a very stressful time for you, and I appreciate the impact this has had on your holiday.

We are always ready to listen to guest feedback, I appreciate you felt I did not respond to you at the time about your concerns on check out, but I was aware that you were very upset over your family crisis and did not feel it was appropriate to discuss other than listen.

We wish you all the best, and thank you for your feedback, and we are addressing the concerns that you have raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this motel because it was the only one offering a room for 4 adults (an extended family group) on short notice in a holiday period. We were delighted to be able to book what appeared to be a 4 star motel (generally ranked 3.5) and decided to pay the price of $230/night they were charging.
On almost every level we found this place poor or worse. We were double booked and were not told. Instead we were sent to a suite with one bedroom and a fold out bed in the living area, After we insisted on what we had booked they decided to move another booking to give us the room we ordered. Luckily for us that booking arrived 10 minutes after us, not 10 minutes before.
The rooms were old and tired. Neither well built or maintained. Cracked paint, mirrors with silvering fading, corroding fittings, dirty plugs, overpainted wallpaper, hooks with missing prints, patched carpet, chipped cupboard fronts. And on top of that the fridge failed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Whilst we do appreciate your feedback, we do feel your comments to not reflect the actual events.

The agent the guest booked through made a reservation for a one bedroom apartment, but had provided the guest with documentation for a two bedroom apartment, eventhough we had not provided the agent a two bedroom apartment at the time the booking was made.

To accommodate the guest we checked our arrivals, and we were able to change our arrivals, and we changed our arrivals to accommodate the guest.

In relation to the fridge, the guest did come to reception to advise the fridge did not work, we did send our maintenance immediately to the room, where it was found the guest had switched the fridge off, we simply turned the fridge back on for the guest


We do hope the guest does enjoy their stay in Rotorua, and we do thank them for their feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed three nights on holiday and this hotel did its job. It's in need of some updates but I guess that's what makes the price lower. It's very close to the Maori thermal village and a quick drive into Rotorua CBD. Lots of nearby restaurants and groceries for self-cater. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel as the menu didn't seem great.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A lovely family hotel nice reception area very quiet could have some music playing maybe? Maybe look at having rooms revamped our lounge wall was ripped the kitchen element was cracked the fridge wasnt closing properly due to little ice box being frozen up so it was stopping it from closing proper. The outside area of our room needs some colour instead of smoke butts in the dirt garden. The grouting in the bathroom is stained and the toilet seat needs replacing the vanish thingy is peeling :-( the pool was nice, Tennis court needs some love and the mini golf some colour. My room wasnt even vacumed and we were out all day!! Alright for the price hope these reviews get read by the hotel management. Its ok but could be better :-) PS there were ants on our kitchen bench wen we got back..

Room Tip: Our room was fine where it was right next to everything, pool, mimi golf and bbq areas tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kailejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

We understand that you had some issues with the housekeeping in 2012.
The Hotel has beenunder new management since 2013. We now have supervisors in each block to check the rooms that have been cleaned to ensure that the rooms are maintained at a very clean standard

I am certain the issues you experienced in 2012 would not occur now

Thank you

Kind Regards

Greg Wislon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing