We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a studio apartment. It was very outdated, the set up of the furniture made the place look more like a waiting room than a lounge area with stained carpets. Some lights didn't work and the fridge was wedged open by too much ice. When I mentioned about the fridge I was just handed 5 milk sachets. Staff were blunt and gave minimal information regarding facilities. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weelassie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The room was so outdated. Things didn't work. Furniture old and uncomfortable. Last updated in the 60's??
Room wasn't serviced. 3 of us staying in a 2 bedroom apartment and when I asked for coffee and advised our room was not made up, I was handed 5 coffee sachets. No apology either.
Don't think the Hotel Inspector would like this one.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have used this motel on three occasions. This visit was a disappointment starting with the booking which took several emails to clarify and confirm. Our main reason for staying was to allow the kids and grandchildren to spent time in the pool but it was very warm (probably 38/39) and they couldn't stay in for long. We asked about whether it needed to be so hot but it didn't change. Our fridge didn't work and although it was indicated it would be 'fixed' nothing happened so had to use one in another family member's unit. Units were OK and roomy, but we did notice top of range hood was very greasy and dirty and toilet seat in poor condition. Staff were helpful but the fridge didn't get fixed! So disappointing this visit.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We do appreciate your comments.

We do maintain the outdoor pool at 38 degrees over winter, you would have noticed the large number of guests using the pool. We maintain it at this temperature so it remains hot all over winter, we have guests swimming in the pool from 7am to 11pm at night, it is a very popular pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The reason I booked here was because they offered a free upgrade to a room with a spa. When we went to our room it just had a shower. I asked about our upgrade and was told they were out of those rooms.... I would have booked elsewhere, ie a room with a spa if I had known this. Why advertise something you can't provide?
To smooth things over we were offered the choice of wine or desert, as I was travelling with my 14 year old son I chose desert. This was delivered to our door...one sundae glass with cornflakes on the bottom, a scoop of vanilla and strawberry sauce...they didn't mention we would be sharing! LOL
Room was comfortable and clean, except for the bathroom - shower could have done with a good scrub. Need to provide more milk for hot drinks. Very warm (winter). Nothing fancy. TV needs an update. Only other moan, there should be a curtain across the glass entrance door as the outside light is on all night and disturbs the sleeper in the lounge area. Little bit of road noise. Breakfast was good. Looked like quite a few families staying, outdoor heated pool was getting good use.

Room Tip: Look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobiTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Booked on line - looked really nice, price seemed good too. Disappointed on reaching our room, VERY DATED, but warm. Disappointed to find only 2 small milk ?15mls each on arrival, not enough for a drink. There were 4 of us, had arrived at around 7pm. Lady at reception rude and not that helpful, not sure if this is normal but charged credit card on arrival, thought they didn't do that until you left. I could be wrong there though! We had a two bedroom apartment with a spa. Rude lady said bubbles didn't work. Filled spa and water cold, had to sit on bottom of spa and wait for water to heat a bit more to fill some more, not that good to be honest!! Had a fire alarm early in the morning, told to "get out and go the the front", not staff visible to do a head count or anything, no direction at all. Alarm turned off and we were told by fire brigade all clear to go back in. Very disturbing that it seemed very haphazard and no real plan for such an event. Went to check out and rude lady again tried to charge me for a meal that we hadn't had, it was charged to our room a day before we booked in, she was very snippy about this, had to point out the dates that we stayed. Rooms not serviced daily either. Good note; one man helpful when asking about places to take family, he was very pleasant (English speaking as well) and knowledgeable about area. Don't think we would rush back, although kids did like the mini golf and pool!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

We do assure you that we are well trained in completing a fire drill. As you are aware we had a farm alarm go off just before 6am, we had all guests out the front of the hotel within 3 minutes and we had the Hotel evacuated before the fire brigrade arrived. I personally evacuated the south wing, and two other staff cleared the north wing. Every room was entered and cleared, a few rooms remained sound asleep even with the alarm going, I had to wake a number of guests and tell them what to do, I may have been a bit short, but had to ensure that all guests were out, and again this was achieved prior to the arrival of the fire brigrade.

It was of course just a false alarm, and I do apologise for the inconvience.

I am extremely disappointed that you found the receptionist rude, we certainly do not want to portray this at all, I will ensure that we improve in this area.

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Rooms should be vaccummed daily , sometime benches wiped sometimes not Two tea towels would be nice. A Frying pan with handle .
enjoyed our stay for value overall started the The SOC ( Silver Oaks Classic ) ie putt putt golf tournament with grandsons and even had trophies of which we will send photos. The Grounds were always clean , we will certainly go back and have in fact today recommended the Oaks too a friend and his family

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Leilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I cannot begin to describe this motel it has well and truly passed its use by date.
The only advice I can offer is not to book it online but to actually see the accommodation prior to paying for it.
Be warning that if you do book online they have a no refund policy.

Room Tip: I can only assume all rooms were the same as ours if that is the case forget the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank PhilGBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We do appreciate your feedback, but with regret we can not respond as we are not aware of the problem that you had.

You are correct that the terms and conditions of any website will set out the cancellation or no show policy, in general you are correct in stating that if you cancel on the day your accommodation will be charged for the 1st night only

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
464 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing