We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was the first place we stopped at along Fenton Street, looked appealing, the new owners were very cheerful and helpful. We were given several options and chose a 1 bedroom unit. The unit was spacious and clean, im sure the units will look amazing once the new owners have finished the refurbishment. Also the lady in the restraunt was nice and even went out of her way to deliver our dessert to our unit when we were going to have to pick it up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em-peedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 369 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our stay with this hotel started with a mix up with the room which we had 7 people and were given a room with4 beds and a uncomfortable pull out. Cleaning staff need the sack as they did not vacuum our room for the entire stay. Had to complain to reception to get our room made up each day and to get toilet paper and basic tea and coffee. The hotel is old and starting to look that way. New managers made the stay bearable as they are really trying to pull it together.

Room Tip: communication and confirm by phone also to commun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truckieandthewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I had booked 2 two-bedroom apartments ( 2 families with kids) for 2 nights. On arrival, I was told that a 2 bedroom was not available, and I could have 4 1bedroom apartments as an upgrade! The 'manager' refused to refund my deposit if I left, despite the internet booking made through their website. After a long day of travel, and weary kids, we stayed, and were charged a total of what I would have paid if I had booked a 1 bedroom apartment! ( $380 plus $100 deposit paid at booking time - internet rates were $120 per night).We ended up sleeping in different bedrooms, one of which was far away from the rest.
I had booked 2 weeks in advance, and I presume they just decided to give me a 1 bedroom instead ( at what ended up being full website price)- and an extra empty 1 bedroom as an 'upgrade' - which is no use to a family with young kids who cannot sleep in a separate apartment and they did not get in touch with me.
I was appalled at the managers attitude,total disdain and rudeness. It was as if I was doing them a favour by staying there.
I agree with other reviewers that rooms, tennis court etc are dated, and I have previously stayed in Rotorua at much better value for money places.

Room Tip: I would just avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback based on your stay in 2011.

Since 2011 we have put in place a pro active maintenance program, and over this we are refurbishing rooms.

We have improved the quality of the property with fresh hired and pressed linen, refurbished the spa complex, and are continuing to improve the property in all aspects

We have a new management team and we are committed to improve our customer service

We believe the product we are providing now would impress you

We are constantly reviewing the feedback we receive, and we are addressing all issues that arise, and letting our staff know where we are succeeding

We hope to one day welcome you back to the Resort

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We only stayed in the Silver Oaks for 1 night. A family of 4 (2 couples) staying in a 2 bedroom suite. Reception were not very welcoming or friendly and when we asked questions about their recommendations for evening entertainment they were not very helpful. Room was clean and tidy had everything we needed although little run down and in need of refurb (wallpaper coming off the walls). We were informed by reception that the hotel bar would be open until 10:30pm and when we arrived back at the hotel at 9:30pm the bar was closed. The pool and private spas are well maintained however the gym was very poor, only couple of cardio machines that actually worked. OK if you want a cheap, no frills motel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a studio room on bed and breakfast basis which was adequate for our needs. Really enjoyed the hot water swimming pool. Also the spa pools. Staff were friendly particularly in the restaurant. and continental breakfast was OK.
Very quiet midweek.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Booked via their central booking. When arrived, approx 6.30 pm, not two bedroom apartment. Office staff not helpful and an old receptionist said she was not paid enough to listen to us. Totally disgusted at the service. Worst NZ experience. Worst hotel ever stayed in, worst staff with no manners and communication skills. Never book this via web.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shalinipratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in 2011

The Hotel has changed management since 2013, and we are currently reviewing all past feedback to ensure that any previous issues have been resolved

Thank you

Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

On our NZ road trip we had just found a motel as we needed to. This time we asked at the Tourist Information Centre, and they said Silver Oaks had a 2 bed apartment for $90 per night Inc breakfast for 2 nights which we thought was good value. We found it fine - and enjoyed the pool. We didn't use the kitchen. The breakfast was good. I left some clothing behind and rang them. They had it, and sent it back home to me after I'd sent them a prepaid envelope. Back home I read the other reviews, and decided to say our experience wasn't too bad!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#86 of 92 in Rotorua
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.1 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#40 of 92 in Rotorua
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing