We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$143
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,062
$849
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$126
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$166
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
37
89
110
65
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
89
110
65
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour starrestaurant staffnice roommaorispas
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 358 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My Husband and I and our 10 Year Old Son have just returned from a 2 night Stay at the Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel .
The Hotel had a good feel to it, it was clean and the rooms have been renovated, but the outside of the Hotel is run down . It needs a paint and we had to be asked to be moved from our first room as it sounded like the roof was coming off, as it was rattling really loudly with the wind . We were given another room which would have been built in the 1950s, although renovated had some of the old outdated things in it, from the era it was built in, such as an old and disconnected "Do not disturb light swtich" which was used back in the day, before cardboard do not disturbed signs were put on doors ! Our room had a balcony and the view from the balcony outside was "a garden area " which had 1950s raised pebble garden boxes which did`nt have many plants in and outside the rooms had old pot plant pots which were from that era, which had no plants in, but instead smoke butts ! We had to ask for our TV to be replaced twice as the channels would randomly, not work, we had one TV channel at one stage ! The heated swimming pool was really nice to use, and it was warm, we went for swims in the mornings before Breakfast, it was so nice . The bar area and the restaurant were nice , and the pool are was lovely too . The food at the restaurant for the buffett dinner - was the nicest food I have ever had in a buffett, I really do Recommend eating at the restaurant . The Breakfast was nice as well, they had fried potatoes, pancakes, scrambled eggs, Baked beans, sausages, toast, tomatoes, 4 cereals , different fresh fruits, yoghurt, jugs of OJ & water which you can take to your table and tea and coffee . The staff were generaly well mannered, and pleasant . They have a laundry which has 2 washing machines and 2 driers for guests to use . There are rooms which are more modern than the rooms we were given, as my in-laws stayed in one of the modern rooms, and they paid the same rate as us per night . If you are going to stay here, I would ask for one of the more modern rooms as they had Air Conditioning in them and were way nicer . The Hotel has a gym which has about 5 different items of gym equipment in it to use . The Hotel provides Shampoo/Conditioner, Body lotion and Soap . We will stay again, but next time I will definatly ask for one of the more modern rooms .

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children for 4 nights. The Kingsgate is located 2 minutes drive from Te Puia, a major tourist attraction, along with almost every other hotel in Rotorua. This hotel offers a lovely warm bar to sit back and relax in, and a well staffed restaurant where you can order some very nice food. It was too cold to go swimming, but it does have a decent heated outdoor pool and tennis court. The hallways here are very cold during winter, but the room stayed at an even warm temperature all day and night. We stayed in a standard room with a double bed, two single beds, one bathroom (with a shower and bath) and a small closet that had coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. For a family of four, this room was not big enough, but it was clean and on the bottom floor which allowed easy access to the substantial grounds. The staff here were very friendly and quick to offer local knowledge when asked. There was also plenty of car parking spaces available at the front of the hotel within the grounds at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOJOAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The entrance features in the brochure - why? The rooms and the rest of the hotel look 2 decades old with little or no maintenance. The rooms are old and unkept and ours even had another family staying in our bathroom - A whole family of ants. The beds are old, worn and uncomfortable and match the flat lifeless pillows perfectly.

The restaurant is another matter - it looks like a cross between a cheap karaoke lounge and a badly lit 50's nightclub, the limited lighting saving you from actually having to closely inspect your food. We found the food to be of average standard, just not for a restaurant, more something one would expect at an aunts place.

The staff however were very friendly, but lets be honest here - that is not what you pay for.

We attempted to use the BBQ by the pool and were informed that we could not as it was considered a health and safety risk??

In short - If I had not been staying with a family group I would not even have put my bags down. I would have gone straight to reception and checked out.

I have only included 2 photos as there was no motivation at all to take any. I did take one of the pool and one of the rather dirty BBQ - these are attached.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beemer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed two nights, the superior rooms are a standard you would expect of a 3 star hotel room, clean, tidy, comfortable, air-conditioned and moderately appointed. The standard rooms are a different story, old and worn, wood panelling and open ceilings, no air-con, very 70’s feel. There is no secure parking and limited parking on site. Overall the Hotel is showing its age.
The restaurant “Jack’s Kitchen” offered a standard menu or the “Kiwi Buffet” and at $26 per head was reasonably priced. We had the buffet on our first night and it is good standard kiwi fair, no problem. The following night was a vastly different story. We booked a party of 10 to dine at 7.30pm. We arrived at 7.30 and where seated. By 7.45 the buffet was half run out and there was no sign of any effort to replenish it, so for $26 per head it was a rip off. Half our party opted for steaks from the menu, we where told there would be a hour wait and we accepted that, but by the time they arrived all the dishes were cold, I ordered a rib eye fillet and received a cold scotch fillet.
Breakfast both mornings were up to standard offering a varied choice.
My recommendation would be make sure you book a superior room, dine early for the “Kiwi Buffet” and don’t order a steak.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Big room with heating which worked. Long way from town so not really suitable for coach tourists.

However, nice bar. acceptable food (although don't have the Chicken Ceasar - they use Chicken slices with a skin on!)

I can't recommend any hotel where the Maitre D' asks for your room number and THEN asks to see your room key just to check!

It's important to trust your customers guys!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews