We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice for one night”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We did enjoy our stay but the staff didn't seem to have all the details right. We were suppose to get complimentry drinks and chocolates on arrival. We were given vouchers for the drinks and it looked like one of the staff shot down to the local shop and brought a pack of Whitkers Peanut Slabs and brought this to our room. If you wanted fresh milk as per the conpemdium you had to ask for it. When we did we were given a bit of a run around and it finally arrived. Over all it was a resonable stay but all that is needed is for the staff to bejust a fraction more frindly and pay attention to the little details and this would be a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The areas that did not quite meet your standards have been addressed with department heads. Your comments are a tool we can build on which are invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    101
    59
    45
See reviews for
90
117
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only stayed a few nights here on route from Auckland to Wellington. We made a slight detour as we wanted to experience the tourist part of our holiday in New Zealand as the rest of the time would be spent visiting relations. The staff in the hotel were very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is fairly central and is located on one of the main town roads although it is very quiet and peaceful. It is only a short walk away from the many restaurants and shops in Rotorua. A multitude of tourist attractions are nearby.and easily accessible. Tours to certain attractions can be booked and the transport will pick you up from the hotel - very convenient. Whilst speaking to relatives' friends later, this is definitely the hotel that the locals prefer to stay in whilst visiting Rotorua and you can't get a better recommendation that that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your generous feedback. Always pleased to hear we have exceeded our service standards. Your comments have been passed onto departments as a service well delivered. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were just there for the one night, booked online easy peasy! Got a special of $95.00 for a superior room.
All the staff we encountered were just lovely and so helpful especially the little lady on reception who's name begins with A, she was so lovely and a great asset to the hotel! (sorry can't remember her name).
To be honest if I had paid full price for the room I would have been disappointed, it was clean and modern but just a few maintenance things let it down. The wooden doors into the room and the bathroom were very old and chipped and looked terrible, the shower nozzle couldn't be adjusted so it was like a hose was on not a spray like normal showers. You had to fill the jug from the bathroom basin which normally wouldn't be a problem for us but this one was quite hard to fit under the tap and fill. Other than those three things it was just fine. Also the restaurant was great... yum! and the service once again was fantastic!

The bed was so comfortable and we had the best nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyCatNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of a mini upfgrade and the areas you mentioned are some of the preventative maintenance that will be addressed. I am pleased to hear we offered and delivered great customer service, this is an area we pride ourselves on. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Room had been recently updated was very light and airy, very compatible bed. It's was an excellent stay. Staff gave great service and were very helpful,great breakfast the waiter was a credit to them . We would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bread58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear we have reached standards we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visit Rotorua 3 or 4 times a year to visit family/friends. About 2 years ago I went to the Kingsgate as my usual motel was full. I have used only the Kinsgate since that time as it is exceptional value for money; always clean to a high standard, and the staff cannot do enough to help. I have now made Millenium my preferred accommodation supplier throughout Australasia.I have only been disappointed once - the Copthorne in the Bay of Islands.Although I wrote twice expressing my concerns,I have never had a satisfactory outcome. It's now a 'Kingsgate' every stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruising879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear we have achieved our expectations of offering friendly service and services. We do pride ourselves on our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

made a booking on line for a bed and breakfast package and paid $99 for standard room. the room was clean and tidy a little old, but well worth the vaule paid. I found the staff to be very nice, front desk made me feel welcomed and resturant staff went out of their way to do all they could for us. Lovely outdoor pool and spa to soak in after a long day. Cheep rates and value for what you pay.

Room Tip: pay the extra $20 if you want a better room. standard room is exactly that a clean tidy room for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your generous comments. I have passed your comments onto those concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was old and smelly. The bed was hard, like sleeping on the flour. I could not sleep at all. We spent only one night. The service at front desk was below avarage. Consider the quality of the room and low tourist's season, room was overpriced. We stayed in two more Kingsgate chain hotels in NZ during our trip and have not been impressed eighter.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your invaluable comments. I have alerted departments to your concerns so we can concentrate of areas mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing