We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than delighted to be in Kingsgate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed July 15, 2011

En route from Auckland to Wellington, we stayed in Kingsgate Rotorua. Good room rate with free parking. Rooms are well renovated. Was told that the carpet was changed two months ago. The outside of the building may not attract you much but the interior of the hotel may give you a different second thought. Great Staff too. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Kingsgate in early July 2011.
The hotel is located in the middle of Fenton, half way between the city centre and Whakarewarewa/Te Puia Thermal reserve. There are very few shops within the immediate vicinity, although the main shopping area of the city and large supermarkets are only 5 city blocks/a couple of minutes drive away. There’s also a Ten-Pin bowling alley directly behind the hotel. Over recent years the standard of the motel accommodation on Fenton Street has increased dramatically, and now the Kingsgate competes directly with its high quality motel/motor inn neighbours.

Kingsgate is part of the Millennium hotels in New Zealand. The Millennium hotel (located next to Polynesian Spa) is the most upmarket of the chain. Copthorne is not represented in Rotorua. The Kingsgate is listed as 3.5 stars, and is now promoted more for its “hospitality”, than quality of the property. I certainly found the staff at the hotel to be exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Every staff member had a ready smile and greeting and appeared happy to help, which was commendable.

The hotel is quite tired and has an unattractive street frontage, but we were satisfied with our “Superior” room. It was clean and comfortable and had apparently recently been upgraded, although this was obviously a refurbishment rather than a full renovation. The room overlooked Fenton Street and the car parking, but noise wasn’t an issue, and the blackout curtains kept out the street lights. The room had a queen bed and a single bed, a couple of chairs and small table, and was tidy, but not large. It had coffee making facilities, and an empty fridge with plenty of space for putting our own snack food and wine into. Surprisingly the television was an old 24” model – with bad quality reception for its 10 Sky channels. I would have expected a larger flatscreen TV to be included in the refurbishing.
The bathroom was clean but very small with a shower over a short bath. The granite vanity appeared to have been recently replaced, but the bathroom door was rotting away at the base which wasn’t a good look.

The public areas of the hotel are dated and reasonably basic, but the bar and restaurant area are spacious. The food in Jimmy’s Kitchen restaurant is promoted as “typical kiwi-fare.” We had the buffet dinner which didn't offer an extensive or imaginative selection, but was enjoyable and filling. There were a number of large tables of people who appeared to be enjoying themselves. Breakfast was also similar - adequate and filling, with attentive and friendly service.

The pool was heated and located in an atrium area in the middle of the hotel, with a big BBQ next to it. It looked clean and tidy but nothing special. We didn’t use the pool, but did use the thermal spa private pools, which are booked in 30 minute segments. The private pools were hot and clean, although a little cramped with no furniture for getting changed.

I noted the previous reviews about security, and agree that security should be upgraded – especially the door locks. The hotel doors are standard key lock door handles, not electronic, and the key tag has the room number printed on it. I wonder if insurance would cover any loss in a burglary if you lost your key and someone found it, particularly given that the accommodation wing can be entered directly from the outside carpark without going through reception – more like a motel than a hotel. These carpark access doors also require a standard key which was provided by reception when I checked in, but one was already open slightly when we arrived. The hotel needs to change to electronic door locks on the rooms and access doors as soon as possible.
Car parking was free. There was a flier for a local shuttle company at reception that quoted NZ$6 for shuttle between sites around town, and NZ$10 to the airport.

Our stay was an impulse buy, through the “GrabOne” website, where it was offered in a Priceline-style promotion where we didn’t know the actual hotel until we had made the reservation. We got a night in a recently renovated Superior Room, breakfast, buffet dinner and late check-out, for NZ$129. We were very happy with the price and service that we got from the Kingsgate on this promotion. I note that similar rooms at the Kingsgate are listed as low as $80 on discount websites, or a little over $100 bed and breakfast. This is good value for money and also makes the Kingsgate a good midrange accommodation price for anyone attending conferences at the higher-priced Rydges or Distinction hotels that are nearby. If the price was significantly higher or without inclusions, then I think you would probably get a better deal from one of the many upmarket motels neighbouring the hotel on Fenton Street.

Room Tip: Shop around online for good promotional packages
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is situated along the hotel strip in Rotorua. The rooms are large and nicely furnished and clean. The bathroom was well laid out. Most of the rooms look out to the car park and main street, but it wasn't really noisy. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is generally in good condition. Most of the guests appeared to be from bus tours, and seemed to range from international tourists, to school sporting groups. They were a little noisy in the public areas of the hotel, but there was no disturbance in our room.

The only real negative was that one night we came home and saw a man on his hands and knees trying to look under our door. We had left the light on for security. When confronted he said he was inspecting a trip hazard in the carpet. The carpet in the hallway appeared reasonably new and there was no hazard, so I reported the incident to the front desk and was informed that the man's description did not match any of the staff working that night.

Security to the building was a bit of a worry as there were several entrances from the car park that did not require you to walk past the front desk. These entrances were near staircases. Sometimes these entrances were locked so that guests could exit but not enter through the doors, but more often than not they were completely unlocked. The room I was in did not have a safe, so I wasn't comfortable leaving anything of value in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The rooms were great and the atmosphere was great as well. The hotel appeared to have a lot to offer. Would like to stay again sometime. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Good location with good facilities.. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. The big pool was very good and HOT!!. . Will definately go back.. Good value for the $75 that we got it at..
The location is a little out of town but no problem with a car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great location with good facilities. The staffs were very helpfull and friendly. Some of the old rooms need upgrade to match the front rooms though.
Sauna and pool was good and the barbeque area was good and spacious. Ideal for hanging outr with friends on a trip.
Will definately go back but will get the rooms on the front blocks....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzeezA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Paid $100 for a room, appears to be good value for money but alas, the aircond doesn't work for both nights we were there. Front desk staff immune to negative feedback. DIdn't seem to want to know about problems. Fake and unfriendly service. Rooms very dated. Will not stay here again. Ever.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $75 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing