We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel decent, but as it is very close to the lake, which has sulphur contents, and that leads to a smell of sulphur. This smell comes in the hotel and can be irritating for someone who does not like the suphur smell

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, hopefully our destination's particular flavour did not bother you too much during your stay here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a group. The hotel was a bit tired and seemed to be in need of a good clean and refurbish. The hotel is nearby to the water/lake and it was rather on the nose with the sulphur smells. But of course, all of Rotorua smells the same and you eventually get used to it. It was close to the shopping centre which was good but I honestly can't say much positively about the Sudima.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for tkaing the time to write a review. I appreciate your feedback and trust that you had noticed the many areas that have already been refurbished in order to ensure that our product remains attractive and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for the Rotorua Marathon. The furnishings are a bit tired, the toilet a little long in the tooth, but the view of the lake out the window was priceless. We didn't have the balcony rooms which would have the sun shining in later in the day anyway. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly. Close to all the restaurants and shops and the beautiful Government gardens.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor in the wing without balconies facing the lake. The rooms are pretty sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have hesitated placing feedback on this hotel because I found the room so unbelievably poor. I rung to discuss with a Duty Manager but found that the hotel Manager didn’t particularly care.

The look of the lobby and check-in, were both impressive. Our check-in was at 1am after a busy evening travelling. We came to Sudima as we have a corporate rate and often stay at Sudima (but this was our first time at Rotorua Sudima).

When we finally got to our room, we discovered it was located not in a corridor but off the stairwell in a room that could have been an ex-cleaner cupboard. The room was so small that you could only get into one side of the double-bed as the other side was against the wall. Although we were extremely tired, our sleep was bad due to the slump in the middle of the bed and the resulting roll-together.

There were perhaps 50 dead flies on the window sill (the window was closed). The toilet was disgusting with water stains, an old seat and old toilet system. The TV was extremely old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read your comments about how we do not care for our customers, particularly in light of the fact that my efforts to contact you have been in vain. I do apologise that you and your companion were allocated to a single room, something that the team clearly missed on this occasion. The room you were allocated is only sold in the event of the hotel being fully booked and even then is provided at a discounted rate, for obvious reasons. I regret if these facts were not communicated to you prior to entering the room. Thank you for sharing your experience, I do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for work recently, nice warm rooms, comfortable bed which is dear to my heart, friendly staff and a good cooked breakfast.

Centrally located with an easy walk into the city.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are indeed pleased that you enjoyed your stay, a good night's sleep and our breakfast. We look forward to being of service to you again on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

very pleasant stay ,first time wife and i without the kids ,service was brilliant and staff were courteous and very helpful,the only complaints was the wifi which you had to purchase and the restaurant meals were a little pricey for only average meals ,also the bathrooms are a little dated and require some refurbishing .all said and done ,would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulC6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for the feedback that it contained. We are in the process of updating some of our guest room bathrooms in an effort to address the issue you have noted. Thank you also for your comments about the restaurant and the wifi, points which are well worth exploring from our perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights 3rd may
We were very comfortable and close to where we wanted to be. The hotel is a little tired . Could do with new carpets and sheets but over all it was ok and priced right for what it is. The staff were friendly . We walked to a great Italian cafe for dinner both nights in Fenton St the food was great . Over all a good stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You will be pleased to know that we are continuing our refurbishment programme in the hotel in order to address some of the issues you have noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $102 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing