We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the sunrise and have a hot soak.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is situated on Lake Rotorua, so there is a beautiful view for taking a walk or going for a run. There is a hot springs place 2 min walk away that is reasonably priced. There are a lot of restaurants, bars, and stores within walking distance.

The room was very nice. Some of them have a balcony with a table. Free coffee and tea were provided, the rooms were clean, they provided plenty of pillows, and the shower was hot every time. Wireless internet was not free, but it was only $5 for 2 hours of time that you could use on and off at free will.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

it is just so convenient for everyone to go to the thermal pools when stay in this hotel, I have stayed here for over 5 times, and it has been always good stay, clean, well furnished, quiet, convenient. we just took a family package with a buffet breakfast offered for four of us, so nice! we will still choose this hotel in our future travel to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaw0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights with 2 children 11 and 12yrs. The room was average and dated . The beds were reasonable and fairly comfortable. We really enjoyed the New Zealand Maori Cultural shows which was presented in the Hotel Ballroom with traditional Maori cooked food. My Son and I went for walks just outside the Hotel and saw amazing hot water springs. The location is fantastic and close to most of the attractions. The reception area is immaculate but did not reflect the rooms I am sorry to say. Staff were very helpful and knew the area well. The pool was lovely and warm kids really enjoyed that. I would go back and by then I hope they have updated the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a modern or updated room if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garvstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the service, location as well as some of the areas in the Hotel where refurbishment has been completed. We are continuously looking at ways to improve and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had stayed in a Twin Room. The check in was pretty quick, very friendly staff, lovely spacious clean rooms. There was ample parking space.
The only problem we found was that the rooms got pretty hot at times and there was no air conditioning in the rooms. Also due to the location near the polynesian spa; you get the sulfur smell. So a room facing away from that side would probably help a little.
Overall a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuing with the installation of airconditioning into more guest rooms in the coming months as your comments are very valid indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

While the Sudima is located right on the lake in Rotorua, they fail to tell you that it is at the end of the lake that vents hydrogen sulfite into the environment. The smell of rotten eggs is everywhere.

While the smell is somewhat overpowering, what I find inexcusible is the room to which we were assigned. The Sudima is a popular place for tour groups. While we were there, plenty of tours were in residence as well. The hotel is quite large and not full, yet we were assigned to the least desirable room in the entire complex. Tour buses boarded and discharged right outside our room with little consideration of the people who may be in residence. Before we left, we asked why we were given this room, which was clearly a last resort. The desk staff had no explanation and said that we should not have been assigned this room.

The room itself, while clean, dates from 1970. There has been no attempt to update them. The hallways are barren, no artwork or furniture. It looks like a welfare hotel though clean.

There is no place to sit in your hotel room other than a desk chair.

Do not stay here. There are other, much nicer hotels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suetoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not like your room, but I am a little suprised that you failed to notice any of the modern decor, furnishings or services that we provide throughout the hotel. I also regret that other guests arriving and departing were a bother to you on this occasion, we will most certainly work with our front desk team in order to prevent situations like this in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Situated right on the lake, when we arrived we thought it would be lovely to have a room with a view of the lake, but after experiencing the smell we were delighted to be in a room at the back away from the lake. The staff were very friendly but unfortunately lacked knowledge of the local area including advice on where to find a restaurant! There is an area called 'Eat Street' & they never heard of it! Only a 10min walk from hotel! Instead they directed us to the local pub for greasy frozen fish & chips! Room basic, pillows like pancakes, but clean so can't complain. Good location, walking distance to shops (& eat street!). Had to pay for Wi-Fi & it kept dropping out. Free guest parking.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel away from the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review and the feedback it contained. We have already worked with the team to ensure that everyone is up to date with any new developments in the city and I am sorry that they were not able to assist you satisfactorily on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at Sudima. It was basic no frills room. However it had everything we required and a really comfy bed. Walking distance approx 100m to Polynesian Spa which was convenient as I could walk over whilst my partner stayed at the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AkM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you made the most of our excellent location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $100 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing