We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown Rotorua and is on the Lake. The room was fine and the bed very comfortable. We had a drink in the lounge, dinner at the restaurant and also breakfast the next morning. Both meals were very enjoyable. We did have to hurry through breakfast but that was our fault as we came down rather late. The dining staff were most gracious about keeping the breakfast buffet open for us. This hotel caters to many tour groups but we just made sure that we were not dining or in the lobby at the same time as the tours came in. We were on the main floor and our only disturbance was a large tour group assembling outside to board their bus at about 5 AM. We did have our window open. One item missing form the bathroom - no hair dryer. The private spa option was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that your enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    575
    418
    163
    66
See reviews for
401
560
79
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Staying at the Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua was very disappointing to say the least.....My room was dirty, around the windows was pure filth and the bathroom was disgusting. Putting my elbows onto the bench top in the main room itself when sitting down to eat a meal I had to go and wash the whole benchtop myself. The young lady at reception (trainee) told me all rooms were booked out and they could offer me nothing else.....was not happy with the room at all.

Room Tip: No idea, couldn't be offered another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review, I do apologise for the issues you encountered but do believe that we have addressed these in a proper manner through the separate communication we have had with yourself. We have furthermore shared your feedback with the team here in order to ensure that quality remains at the forefront of everything we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our honeymoon, unfortunately we did not have a good experience from start to end. Upon check in we were accidentally given room keys to 2 different rooms so we went back down to reception & waited while a second key to our room was located but all the keys appeared to be in the wrong room numbers which took some time to fix. Upon arring at the hotel we could notice the very strong sulpha smell emitting from the lake right across the road - we do understand this is a natural occurance so were glad to enter the air-conditioned reception where you could not even faintly smell the odour. Upon arriving at our room we were very surprised to find that the room was not air-conditioned and only contained a small fan. We had paid extra for a lakeview room with balcony so opened the balcony door only to be greeted by the very strong odour from the lake which meant we had to immediately close the door & subsequently could not use the balcony throughout our stay nor could we open the door to allow fresh air to circulate which resulted in the room being very stuffy. During the night we woke again by the strong smell, upon investigating we found that it was coming through the vent in the bathroom, even with the door shut it had escaped under the door into our bedroom! After 2 bad nights of sleep we were awoken by housekeeping banging on our door at 8:50am even though check out was 10am. During our stay we had to spend each day out of the hotel room as we just couldn't bear the stuffiness or odour for very long. On positive notes they do not have a gym on site but do have an agreement where guests can use the gym up the road free of charge, the bed was quite comfy & we went to the Hangi which was also good but we have found out that anyone can attend the Hangi at Sudima and that you do not need to be a guest so I would suggest there are better options nearby which are cheaper as well. Since returning home I have received an email from Atola (Assistant Manager) which stated 'I am not sure how could we have done things better' so I can only feel that our issues have fallen on deaf ears.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the feedback it contains. You are quite correct, we are unsure as to what more we could have done in regards to the smell, I regret that this was not clear in our previous correspondence with you. Thank you nonetheless for the many positive comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were impressed with the proactive reception team when we arrived who were keen to give us information on the area. We were given a nice room overlooking the lake. Unusually for NZ it had a safe in the room and we were impressed with this. There was an extensive laundrette in the hotel costing 3 + 3 dollars. The bar was buzzing, especially during happy hour from 4.30 to 6.30 pm. We ate at the hotel and enjoyed the buffet costing 40 dollars. At no time during our meal, however, were we approached by a member of staff asking for our drink order. This was perhaps because they were too busy looking after tour groups. This hotel is almost good enough to be a 5 star and with tweaking and additional staff training, it could be. The bathroom was tired-looking with a broken washing line. The telephone was broken so didn't accept incoming calls. It was only when I asked at reception if anyone had been trying to get hold of us were we told we had missed a few calls. Surely we should have been told this anyway. The radiator in the room was on boiling and the valve was broken so our room was baking hot. We were offered another room but we didn't want to move from a lakeview room. Staff were able to mend the radiator quickly but surely this should have been picked up by cleaning staff before we got there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your interaction with our team but at the same time I wish to apologise for some of the shortcomings in the dining room as well as the issues you encountered in your guest room. We have shared this with the team as this is most certainly not up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pool was great and the traditional concert and buffet dinner meal was great!!
Buffet breakfast yummy also...
However the room was supposed to be superior??? The most expensive night of our week long holiday in New Zealand and this was by far the most disappointing
The bathroom was old with a shower over the bath and yucky shower curtain etc
It was down stairs no view however it was surprisingly very quiet!!
I would not recommend a superior room????....!!!???!!!???

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed a number of our facilities but at the same time apologise for the fact that you found the guest room standards to be below your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in an upstairs unit. The room was clean and nice. A little small and the shower was unsure what temperature to run at. Our biggest issue was the noise from guest/staff in the hall and in the alleyway that the tourism busses pulled in to load/unload. Sadly this was right between two of the building blocks. Good location but not the best if you enjoy a sleep in. Pool and spa was a plus.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and the feedback contained in it. We will definitely review the situation with coaches approaching the building in an effort to limit the noise and disruption that they cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A friend and I had one night here in a double, double on the Highway side of the property - clean comfy, well located to the town centre and the Theatre. Our rate included breakfast which was nice and covered off all the normal breakfast fare. Every staff member we came across was smiling and courteous...but even on a grabone deal the value for money was less than some other options in Rotorua. Seems to be used for large tour groups and if you're on the road rather than lakeside then it's noisy at night. We used the spa which was a bit of a hoot, bubbles on hyperspeed inside a little bricked in concrete enclave...but after a long drive it was still appreciated, if somewhat vigorous. Not the place to take your partner for a special romantic holiday weekend, but otherwise a clean, comfortable place to stop for a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake or town side not on the state highway side if you think you'd be both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarboGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing