We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Quite surprising not expensive clean and nice and central to town. Overall a nice hotel and we will stay here again. Next time we will try the cultural show as well. Never got to the spa again maybe next time. Staff seemed very friendly and smiled and always said hello. What more do you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate your wonderful comments about our team and have shared it with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    558
    398
    160
    65
See reviews for
395
542
75
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Valley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We looked at some of the other hotels offering spas but found them very downmarket and rough. Decided on the Sudima as it is right on the bay and next to the Polynesian Spa which is a must visit place. The price difference was minimal so why not stay somewhere nice eh?
We had a two bedroom room so the kids were not in our room for a change. They had their own TV and bathroom, great. The restaurant was first rate, the service perfect. everyone was very friendly and we would stay there again tomorrow. Didn't get a chance to swim in the pool as we were at the hot baths across the road, they are fantastic too. Very happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducatifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased that you liked the family room and that the kids also enjoyed the stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

One night here recently and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel used to be separate motels so the buildings are all in blocks but some do have a view of Lake Rotorua. The rooms very nice and the beds comfortable. There is a swimming pool and they have private spas that are free to use. The breakfast buffet was very nice and filling in the morning. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have a lake view so enquire when you book :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel has seen better days but looks like owner has saved money on maintenance. It is a bit tired. Toilet didn't work. Wifi didn't work. We were charged more than the price listed on Trip Advisor. We were offered a $62 deal for dinner/ maori cultural group. Didn't go but later heard from the corridor the group singing a Village People song!? You've got to be kidding if this is presented as "cultural". Overall, quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We apologise for the fact that you did not find our building to your liking and regret that you failed to notice the modern look of the restaurant, lobby, guest room passages and many other areas. It is a pity that you decided not to attend our cultural show, as it may have explained the context and meaning of a "mainstream" song in the evening's proceedings. It is an excellent night and we are sorry that you missed it! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sudima Rotorua and loved it!
The staff are wonderful, friendly and super helpful, the restaurant is amazing! If I wasn't so full I would have had seconds and thirds!
The location is perfect as it has wonderful views of Lake Rotorua and is a 2 min walk to the heart of the city.
The decor is tiny bit out dated but unlike other reviews it didn't effect my stay at all, everything was clean and well presented.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any travellers to Rotorua.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have views of Lake Rotorua
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting a review and also for your kind words about our team, which we have shared with all of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a big hotel in a very good location. Nothing very unique, but did all that it said it would. Accessing the room was a bit of a trek, but they did have lifts. Our room was clean and spacious, the beds comfortable, the shower hot and powerful. We had very little to do with the staff, but for what we had they were friendly and helpful. Access to town and local sights was excellent. We didn't eat in the hotel, so we can't comment on that. Rotorua is a town on a sulphurous rift, so being next to the lake gave full benefit of that!!

Room Tip: A room in the main building or on the ground floor does improve access, but it wasn't a big prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just finished holding a conference for 187 people at the Rotorua Sudima Hotel. It was an excellent venue for a conference. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was tasty and plentiful. The great teamwork by the Sudima staff showed in their efficiency in handling changes needed in room set up for our event, and in their organization of the meals and drinks. The staff responded to every request immediately and cheerfully, and went out of their way to help us and to create a special atmosphere for our event. The hotel is well-located for people who want to go for walks or into town, or take part in the various activities in Rotorua, and their pricing for conferences is very competitive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 410AnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for entrusting us with your event, it was an honour to host your group here and we appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#32 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing