We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$161
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$127
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$144
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$484
$410
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,060
$850
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveler rating
296
627
465
169
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
627
465
169
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolynesian spalake rotorualarge hoteltwo double bedsgovernment gardensbit datedbuffet breakfasthot springstown centreprivate spaeat streethot poolshangispasmaorisupermarketbaths
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here last night. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive in a very genuine Kiwi way.
Room was warm and comfortable
Room service was prompt and of a high standard
Breakfast good value and refurbished dining room looks great
Location is stunning as right on lake edge.
Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiptb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My travel agent booked this but I went on the website and double checked that I liked the look of this hotel. Everything looked fantastic on the website so I agreed to him book it. It was hard to find but I'm not sure if that's because our GPS didn't recognise the street. In the end we had to ask at the information center in town.

When we checked into the hotel it was professional and the staff were friendly. However when we went to our room we had NO view of the lake whatsoever and it looked as if we were in the oldest building in the hotel. It looked nothing like the brochure and the phone in our room didn't work.

The one positive thing was that the phone issue was resolved quickly and the service provided by the hotel was fantastic, I just wish we had been given what we were promised in the brochure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you were allocated to a room that did not look out onto the lake, I regret that we are not always able to provide lakeviews to all our guests simply due to the fact the some of our rooms do have different outlooks. I am a little surprised about your comments in regards to the brochure though as the images are most certainly of the actual product. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent three nights at the Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorura in June 2013. It was winter and raining. Our room was spacious and clean with two double beds, a great bathtub for anyone who wanted to soak the sore muscles after activities around Rotorura, well stocked with coffee and teas. The reception staff was very helpful and well-groomed. The hotel is very large with many rooms. It offers private jacuzzi rooms in the pool area, but you'll need to reserve one. Some rooms have balconies with outdoor furniture which would be great for summer months. Breakfast selection is great - offering either continental or hot breakfasts. The pool table, sports bar, restaurant, and computer center are great conveniences.

Coin operated laundry facilities are available in each hotel section. Detergent and other supplies are available for purchase, but there is also a store nearby should you want to purchase different laundry supplies. We encountered a dryer that simply wouldn't dry. After a call to reception, a repair call was placed, and our coins were refunded. The hotel compensated us by providing complimentary drying. The room bathrooms also have a convenient pull out clothes line in the shower/tub for drying small lightweight items.

The hotel offers a view of Lake Rotorura which is cool to see in the winter with all of the steam activity blowing across the lake. Up close, though, the lake needs cleaning, and it was disappointing to see the debris. Activities in Rotorura require driving, so there's nothing really within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff can arrange your pick-up/return to an authentic Maori village or they'll arrange other activities for you as well. During our stay, the Maori cultural show and Hangi meal weren't offered at the hotel. There are a few shops and restaurants nearby, but if you want to go Zorbing, to volcanoes or to sulfur pools, for example, you'd have to drive.

Polynesian Spa! A must go to treat! The spa offers THE BEST hands down THE BEST massages and body scrubs anywhere. The natural hot springs are an excellent top off after a luxuriating massage or alone to relax and enjoy the natural outdoor beauty.

Overall, for the cost and conveniences, this is a great place to stay in Rotorura. I could imagine it being extremely busy in the summer months, though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Asellus_Borealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay was flawless. Aiden on the desk welcomes you with a huge smile. He's Informative helpful friendly and kind. Thanks Aiden!!!! Our rooms were clean comfortable and most of all warm especially at this time of the year. Sudima is close to Polynesian Spas however we made use of the facilities at the Hotel. The pool is heated and so too are the Private Spas. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and wanted to stay longer. I had a personalised card in my room that added that special touch. Thanks to Gert and your Team. I highly recommend Sudima Hotel to anyone spending the night in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200 range have a private balcony. I did notice in other parts of the Hotel there are balconies as well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SELINA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for the kind words about our team, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely lake view but disappointing rooms and facilities. Rooms were small and very worn.
Phone would not work, notified reception however was not sorted in our 3 night stay so unable to make calls. Brochure doesn't match up to hotel, if hadn't pre-paid would have found another motel. Uncomfortable and confined bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAKSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
I do apologise that we did not attend to the issue with your telephone, we have shared this with the team here as that is most certainly not acceptable. I am pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic location as well as the view, not sure about your comment in regards to our brochure as all the shots are of the actual product. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews