We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Room ok and comfortable. Had not realised the hotel was a tourist hub - NB check Tripadvisor next time ! I counted thirteen coaches in the carpark. The food was average but the waiting staff ill trained, reaching across us to serve food and drink or retrieve the empties. One young lady managed to pour wine over my hand after over reaching rather than coming round to my side. Oh well, you live and learn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The rooms are very nice with balconies. The staff is very helpful. But the smell of sulfur is awful. There is no air-conditioning, so you either have to have a warm room or suffer the smell with the windows open. And there are tons of seagulls - so the noise is loud with the windows open. The food at the restaurant is phenomenal. Easy walk to the shops. No elevator to the various floors in some of the buildings, so if you don't want to heft your luggage, be careful when you make the reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Room was clean and simple, with comfortable sized beds, extra pillows, and a clean toilet. The only inconvenience was that my room was located on the second storey in the block with no elevator, so I had to lug my luggage up a flight of stairs.

Hotel location was nearby shops and supermarkets, so it was pretty convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valencia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Easy to find hotel. Ideal location as to the lake, Polynesian Spa, Clean. Nice and well organized Maori show, good food. Rooms clean and worthy its money. Pool OK. Nice water temperature. Though private small pool a bit of disappointment not as to quality of the dip and water but looks is left behind the presentation of the whole hotel. Pity, that there is no sauna.
Will we return there? Yes. Very handy locationand quite nice room as well.

Room Tip: Choose any level above ground floor. some small shrtage of the parking space. tomorow to Te Aroha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a very well located property in the heart of downtown. You can find numerous restaurants and shopping malls within a rage of 5 min or a 20 min walk. It has a mud lake right across whose stink might take some getting use to. The dinner has a live 'Maori' dance along with buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imvvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Got a budget price room, that's what we paid for, had a good sleep anyway.
Restaurant was rubbish, Indian waiter was more interested in what was going on around him, than his first guest needs.
Menu was way over priced for the quality of the food, waiter was up-selling the most expensive dishes, (good on him), I had the fillet steak, it was not worth the money I paid, I was told by the waiter that the boccohini cheese would melt if I put it on top of the steak at my table, (rubbish), maybe he needs some cooking lessons, as a chef it needs an oven not a warm steak

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanganuiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent property, avoid the the rooms in the old wing. Great location, get used to the smell of sulphur as soon as possible or you wouldnt enjoy your stay in this city. We stayed here for 3 days and had an excellent stay and got a good deal on the rooms as well. Very close to the city center and yet so peaceful and quiet. The restaurant has a limited menu to choose from, but the restaurants in the city are awesome. On the whole it was a great break for us and we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing