We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a good deal from the Internet, didn't pay too much. It's smelly with the geyser, we had the room which had the view on the 2nd floor. One night there is sufficient, there is the foul smell of the geyser which you would have to put up with, worth while doing.

Staff are friendly, they were helpful with advising where to go to eat, they also had a deal for hellsgate to do the spa and mud pools, we had already purchased a good deal on the Internet.

Decor is out dated, can do with modernising/updating it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank din26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
The Hotel does offer great value PLUS a stunning view, we appreciate your comments
Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    80
    78
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
164
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Firstly I agree with many of the reviews the Hotel is basic, however, very reasonable, clean, tidy, and good service, parking at the door.One of the first Hotels as you come into Rotorua, on Fenton Street, great if you have transport, otherwise, a very good walk into town.
The major attraction to this Hotel, is the view overlooking thermal activity, really is stunning, we slept with the door open all night, second level to enjoy the sounds, smells, and views of this thermal wonderland, no need to pay for a tour, you really can see it all from your room.
We have stayed here a few times in the past, and, will continue to do so in the future,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Dav... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very basic hotel, in need of a bit of TLC but the rooms appeared clean and comfortable. If you have a choice of a better hotel, then I would not chose to stay here again but, at a push, this place is not all that bad. The value for money was what you would expect, cheap and at the lower end of the market but, as with all things in life, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, then do not stay here but, at a push, a couple of nights would be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bybhuggjijbigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, the rooms are very clean, we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

So we'd booked this Hotel, and then read all the bad reviews on here the day before we were about to go - so we arrived with a bit of trepidation expecting something resembling the debacle in Sochi. However, we were actually quite impressed. We paid a little more what you would pay for a hostel bed at a backpackers (so we knew we weren't checking into the Hilton) and for this we got a double room on the Fourth Floor overlooking the Geyser. We paid a little extra for the Geyser view and it was totallly worth it!!!
Yea the accommodation could do with a bit of investment, but for what you pay for, we've travelled all over the world and have definitely stayed in a LOT worse. I actually thought that this was quite good value for money.

Room Tip: The best rooms are up on the Fourth Floor - waking up to the Geyser View in the morning is a beaut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The room looked clean but was disgusting. The floor had not been properly vaccuumed. In the early hours of the morning we squashed a bug on the pillow with blood in ti. Then we noticed smaller versions of the same bugs crawling on the walls above the bed boards and on the carpet near the skirtings. We ;pulled the beds out from the wall to sleep on them. In the morning we found more blood on the pillows, and many more bugs, not only in the bedding this time but also on the walls and ceiling. We caught a number and then decided to call the health inspectors of the local council. They came out promptly and confirmed that the bugs were bed bugs, took the ones we collected away and informed the manager of the hotel.

When we were pulling the bedding apart we also found a number of long hairs in the sheets as well, (not belonging to either of us who stayed there.)

The manager came up and offered his help to us which in the end jsut resulted in him buying some insecticidal spray for us to use in our luggage (which may or not may not kill bed bugs. We ended up wrapping all our clothes and luggage in sealed garbags to deal with again later.

The manager also confirmed that they had had a bed bug outbreak in the hotel including the room we were in (room 821) 2 to 3 weeks before and he had 'bombed' the room then as he was not sure how to deal with the problem. As he said, the 'bomb' did not evidently kill them all. So everyone who has been in that room since has been exposed to bed bugs.

What should have happened was that the infected rooms and adjoining ones should have been sealed off and not been used until some experienced professional could confirm that they were no longer infected, as bed bugs are notoriously hard to get rid off. There is a also a trained sniffer dog only some 50 kms away.

We asked about a refund which he said he would have to talk with the owners and now some several days later we have heard from the online booking agent that the hotel is not going to refund.

On returning home we found some dead bed bugs inside the sealed plastic bags and retreated everything. Hopefully we have got rid of any live ones that were hiding in amongst the luggage. So far one o the people has had bites turn up on their legs. They can take a few days to show.

The hotel manager tried to downplay the infestation by saying that all hotels have them, we were just unlucky. The local council inspectors also tried to have the resulting tv news coverage taken off air so that it would not damage the reputation of. the town.

Other faults in the room were dirty stains on the carpet, broken dried noodles on the carpet,a showerhead that sprayed and leaked water everywhere when turned on and a kettle that still had water sitting in it ( for how long) that contained unknown white lumpy pieces.


DO NOT STAY HERE, The view of the geyser is great but,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest

We firstly dispute your claim that we have had bed bugs in the room prior to your visit, there have never been bed bugs in the room prior to your visit.

You have tried to claim that the room had a bed bud infestation. This is not correct. On the day you claimed there were bed bugs in the room you made a complaint to the health department , you made no comment direct to the Hotel.

the first that we were aware of any problem was when the health department arrived to check the room. The Health department fully checked the room. There was no infestation. The department did find 4. these were on top of the bed, ie the bed spread. What is interesting is that none were found on the bed itself, there were none on the bed base or mattress. They did not find any on the curtains, carpet or furniture.

The statements made by the guest were not supported.

We note that neither of the two gentlmen staying in the rtoom had any bites at all.

The fact that they were on top on the bed, near your suitcase, also on the bed, that they were actually carried into the Hotel by the guest.

The Rotoura District Coucil issued a statement stating it was an extremely minor occurrence, that neither guest actually had any bites, and that the hotel was fully co-operative. The Council also made note that they are carried into Hotels by guests.

The Hotel has taken the positive step to funigate the room, and this has been carried out.

The hotel supports the council and the health department findings that it was an extremely minor occurrence, and that the situation had been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What an appaling excuse for a hotel. Being a couple with two small children we booked a family room, expecting there would be amenities as basic as a sink..We were wrong! There was a jug and tea and coffee but no cups or cutlery. We had no sink to make bottles, using the bathroom sink was not an option as it looked like the cleaners had repeatedly skipped cleaning our room for weeks. Phone jacks were hanging off the wall, maintenance staff had tried to blue tack it to the wall. And to top it all off a condom rapper fell out of the sheets! I I could give his hotel a negative rating I would!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest

The room you booked was a Family studio room, these rooms have a queen and two single beds, plus tea/ coffee making facilities.

We do not advertise the rooms with kitchen facilities, the room description is an accurate description of the room.

We fail to understand why the need to make a complaint about the room not having kitchen facilities and a kitchen sink, when clearly we are not advertsing this.

We did advise you there was a microwave available in the guest laundry, that was available to use.

In relation to the condom, it is clear from the picture it isan unused condom in a sealed pack, you state it fell out of the sheets, yet clearly the picture shows the bed is still made up, so this is not possible. I would suggest it may belong to your own party that stayed in the room, could it not have fallen out of a wallet?

It clearly did not fall out of the sheets, as the bed is still made up.

We are always happy to provide extra plates for the room, but the property does not have litchen facilities in the rooms, just tea/ coffee making facilities

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Horrible horrible hotel!!! Expected to get a family room. No sink to make baby bottles.no cups etc. Phone jack was hanging off the wall which is.dangerous with young kids. And a condom wrapper fell out of the bed.covers in from of the kids! Disgusting!! Services was appalling aswell would never never stay there we got out as fast as we could and.went somewhere else

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lianzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest

It is clear that you wrote two reviews, as the comments are the same as the previous trip adviser review.

You claim that a condom was found in the sheets. If you look at the picture that has been supplied you can see the bed is still made up, with the bedspread still on the bed. So clearly it did not fall out of the sheets. Also you can see from the picture it is an unused condom in a pack.

I would suggest that it more likely fell out of a wallet.

In relation to the family studio room not having a kitchen. When we advertise a room as a family studio room with tea. coffee making facilities, that is clearly what we are offering. I do find it hard to accept that time is taken to compalin about facilities that are not in the room, but are not even advertised as available.

Truly when we say the room has tea/ coffee making facilities that is what it has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing