We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overlooked gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for one night with my mother and we were very impressed and would say that many of the reviews on here are quite unfair. Our room was basic, but very clean and tidy with everything you needed. The room was also lovely and warm and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Then of course there were the views!! We were in a room on the second floor and had absolutely incredible views over the geysers. I think anywhere else you would pay a lot of money for those views!!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the second floor and the views were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 406 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked two rooms for Rotorua Marathon weekend then was horrified to read all the bad reviews.it left me with a sick feeling of trepidation.On check in I met the previously maligned male manager who proved exceptionally friendly.Our adjoining rooms were ready and we found them clean,comfortable and with everything working.The view over Whakarerrewa was fantastically unique.The breakfast both mornings was good..bacon,eggs,hash browns,baked beans,cereals,fruit,juice etc
Yes,the hote l is tired and needs refurbishment and upgrading.However all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.Yes,there was no Sky tv but it wasn't the end of the world .
We had a 22inch flat screenwhich worked well.
This hotel is not flash but is perfectly adequate and its price is accurately reflected it what you get.
I stay in lots of hotels usually in a much higher tariff range and there is nothing wrong with this hotel at the price charged.
People who write reviews need to be fair and not expect the Hilton when they're paying peanuts.
Having said all of the above it is a pity that a hotel on such a prime spot has been allowed to run down physically and I urge the owners to start spending money on a progressive upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Where else in the world can you find a hotel that overlooks boiling mud pools and a constantly erupting geyser? I'm guessing nowhere! This is the only reason we would probably come back here again.
This hotel was probably once upon a time an amazing place to stay but time and a lack of maintenance has had it's toll.
We are easily pleased so were happy to spend our three nights in Rotorua here but there are definitely some things that could be changed; free wifi, sky tv, a 'hot' cooked breakfast (not tepid), not getting dripped on as you move around the complex, move the single bed out of 'queen' rooms and add a settee or couch, and just a general update/upgrade of furnishings.
As it is at the very southern end of Rotorua you do need to drive to get anywhere but you get what you pay for and we had a great holiday whilst staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for third or fourth floor to ensure a great view of the geyser and mud pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billymaxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent hotel for the price. Really neat and comfortable. Nice staff though one of the girls at reception hadn't been in Rotorua long and didn't have any advice on attractions for us. Our room was on the ground floor and once you walked out of the door there was 2m to the fence and behind the fence was a bubbling mud pool and a geyser which occasionally spurted hot water metres into the air. Good location.

Room Tip: I'm not sure but I think all the rooms must have a view of the thermal park. We had a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We appreciate your comments, Regards Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want geysers and views of the thermal area then this place is for you. Otherwise, the hotel is somewhat older, is generally clean but there are lots of things "around the edges' that management could tidy up for little or no cost.
Our room was clean but not meticulously so, the bathroom amenities and towels are functional but not outstanding. The hot pool was OK.
The view from our room (in the 800 block) over the thermal area of Te Puia was stunning and much enjoyed. We slept well although there is a little bit of road noise.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was basic but no more. Much of the cooked part of our breakfast was greasy and overcooked.
The restaurant only seems to be open when their are enough guests in the hotel. Don't rely on it being open. It wasn't for our stay and didn't look like it had been recently.
All in all, a bit of a shame as Chef Ramsey might say. The hotel seems to have the bones of being a good property but needs a bit of work.
We got a good deal for our stay and were happy witht he value we got. Like I said, if you are looking for a view - this is the place!

Room Tip: The 800 block has good views of the geothermal area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

arriving at this hotel keeps a mysterious secret of the unfolding of its direct view of the infamous Pohutu Geyser day and night as well as the boiling muds within the area of Whakarewarewa Thermal Area in Rotorua. you can never be more close than their rooms which have direct view access to the geysers and boiling mud.laundry facilities was a convenience when you are travelling the kilometeres throughout this New Zealand so that we can have clean clothes. watching the sun rise with the geysers and boiling muds are very inspiring.so close to d petrol station is an added feature.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mustapha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for the positive review
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place calls itself a hotel but when I arrived I was basically told off for arriving after 9.30pm. This was after having to press the night button and wait for some grumpy man to turn up and let me in.

My room was not clean and just dull, dull, dull.What a let down when Rotorua is such a vibrant place and I was there for a fun event. Not even a picture on the wall. Even if they had put the local magazines on the table top it would have given the place a bit of colour instead of shoving them in a drawer.

Thought the jug didn't work as the "on" button was missing but luckily realised that it was in fact the plug that was faulty and managed to make a cup of tea by switching to another one. Large space for the fridge was now occupied with a very small and sad looking one.

Carpet was covered with stains - realise that the place needs a major overhaul but there is no excuse for black spodges in the middle of the floor space that a Rug Doctor could remove if they could be bothered.

Towels were thin and ragged around the edges.

Luckily I had an early start so was away before daylight - who knows what else I may have spotted!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We are disappopinted that you did not enjoy your stay

We have new Management, and we are passionate about the Hotel and attractions around Rotorua

We are aware that you had some housekeeping issues, all rooms are checked by supervisors, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we do continue to improve our standards

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#71 of 92 in Rotorua
92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.9 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $52 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing