We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The views from some of the rooms in this hotel are fantastic - looking straight onto a big geyser. But apart from that, there's not much else good about it!

Rooms are a bit shabby and not very well equipped. Worst of all is the attitude of the owner/manager - we borrowed a couple of towels to take to the spa for the morning and when we returned at lunchtime, he said he was very unhappy about it and was very rude! But to make it worse, the towels are awful anyway! The breakfast staff were also very miserable and couldn't spare a smile, but i guess that's because they were also being told off by the owner!

I think this is a big difference between this poor quality hotel with an attitude problem and the more friendly establishments in town where staff can't do enough for you.

If i had the choice again, i'd pick a better value, friendly option that's located in town, rather than this outdated place that's a fair drive from the town centre anyway.

Note to staff: a smile goes a long way! Remember that people are on holiday and want to enjoy themselves, not be told off or grumbled at!

Room Tip: If you are staying here - make sure you get a Geyser-view room. The others aren't worth your con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiereynolds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    80
    81
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
165
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here the other night... Such a shame the hotel has an AMAZING view and location.. Such great potential.

No local information in the rooms and everything's a bit dirty and very dated.

Went to watch TV and it wouldn't work saying "no reception" and despite checking everything ourselves still wouldn't work. We informed reception and were basically told they didn't care. As we had planned a night in.. With no working radio or tv it was a bit boring.

My friend commented at night that she felt bugs crawling on her.. I told her not to be silly. Then I woke up with bites ALL over my feet, legs and torso.

At checkout I showed the boy at reception (who was very nice) my bites and said I wasn't happy. He said "I don't know what to do... " and informed me the owner had just gone out I should email them. I left my phone number for the owner to call me when he got back. No call. So I emailed... No response.
Shocking service and I'm still itchy and horrible!!!'

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This location should have a fabulous hotel but, this one isn't it. Our reservation was mixed up. The staff we met were almost all on their first day, that says a lot. The room we ended up with was overlooking the parking lot. The room was pretty awful and if we were going to be staying any longer than the two nights, we would have had to find another lodging. Oh well on to the bar that overlooks the mud pit. Again first day, and problems. Just a note, if the staff doesn't look up when people enter the premises, it speaks volumes about the atmosphere and the expectations you have are going to disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the newer wing, it will be your only hope. But, be aware that the mud pit is pr...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, the SilverOaks Geyserland is rundown. The old hotel name on the brow of the building had missing letters - a dead giveaway that the property has seen better days! However, my room was clean and spacious and I had an unrestricted view of the nearby geyser and boiling mud pool. The staff were friendly and I thought that the tariff (AU$51 per night though Expedia) was pretty good value. I was a bit annoyed that two minor maintenance concerns were not attended to during my stay. However, I still think that SO-G was quite satisfactory for a short stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here several nights at the start and the end of my recent trip to New Zealand. They do have a pothole in the parking lot and it's an older hotel but, very good value and a great view of the geysers and mud pools. The front desk clerks and maids were all very friendly. You do need to be near the lobby for wifi though.

Room Tip: Ask for the view if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the positive review, Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

i bought this deal for my room through wotif.it couldnt have gone any smoother.my room was on the bottom lvl.i walked out my large back glass doors straight over to the bubbling mudpools ,and geyser directly behind them.the young man on the desk was friendly and helpful.the only downer was that the room was outdated in colours, fittings,appliances.structure.but the room was still very comfortable and warm and the bed i slept in was soo comfortable

Room Tip: a floor lvl room across from the mudpools is scenically ideal if u can get past the sulpher smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing