We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We purchased a deal for this stay including free WiFi. Purchased 2 coupons for a 2-night stay. On arrival we were put in a ground floor studio room. I was bitterly disappointed. There was no view of the geysers from the room, had to walk outside and along several metres to see the view. In addition, I did not feel safe in the ground floor unit when there was free-access for anybody to walk around the back of the hotel. This hotel is on the edge of town in a dark area. I'm sure they do not have security camera's for protection. The so-called free WiFi did not work and upon repeated attempts to contact reception we were told somebody would fix it in the morning. I was really unhappy about this. As it turned out we were out of range. The following morning we requested another room where we could access WiFi. Initially, the Manager advised the Desk Clerk to leave us where we were and let us into a meeting room where we could use WiFi. This was not satisfactory at all! The main reason being that I have a serious illness which had reached a very bad patch during this stay. This meant I had to stay in the hotel room and lie down and rest. Not being able to use the internet was a real drag through this rough patch. And it was not possible to go backwards and forwards to a meeting room to meet one of the conditions of our purchase. On explaining this we were moved to another room a floor above. I overheard housekeeping bad-mouthing us because they would have to clean 2 rooms. It was a real hassle to move all of our gear but the new room was blissful. The view to the geysers was amazing and the internet access was instant. My mood about the place lifted immensely and relaxing in this new environment helped my condition to improve over the next 24 hours. It made me want to return.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view it will blow you away. Request an upstairs room to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    80
    77
    66
    145
See reviews for
107
160
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Wonderful views from the room of the geysers and mud pools.
The room appeared to be clean.
BUT
The hotel is a disgrace, starting from the huge pot hole in the drive, the list of neglect is the same as previous reviews, and it is neglected everywhere.
The owner obviously has no pride in his hotel.
I stayed at this hotel in the 1980's and it was very smart....it looks like no one has cared for it since.
I would not stay here again..there's lots of choice in Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocelynNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We sadly stayed at this hotel with overseas visitors who like us had enjoyed its hospitality many moons ago. They say you should never look back and in this case they are so right. My memories now have been besmirched by the carpet stains, ripped light shades, pot holed bath (and driveway!!) falling to bits bathroom tap, paint peeling house bar ceiling and wall paper peeling bedroom. Gym doesnt work so theres no taking your frustrations out there as all the equipment is faulty or just not working. We shared around the only hairdryer between our group of 6 people spread over 3 rooms and didnt dare sneeze as the tissue holders apparently havent been filled in over a year. The radios didnt work and the jug for making tea and coffee cant fit under the bathroom taps lol. Thank goodness we could fill from the bath. The staff were pleasant enough, if inept in the bar and the others in our party found breakfast disgusting and staff moody. We escaped that nightmare by eating out. So if you want to have a faulty towers experience or are desperate for the most incredible view of the geysers at Whakarewarewa then by all means stay here but otherwise for the astounding cost of $99 NZ you will find better at the local backpackers or even sleep in your car but dont waste your time here.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here go for the rooms on the top floor of the wing that overlooks POhutu geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

its hard to know where to start
complete lack of interest by staff
burn marks on toilet cistern and basin (smokers?)
the unit we stayed in was very dirty (my wife owns a commercial cleaning business and felt like she should spend a few hours cleaning before we could use the room)
they couldn't find our our booking so signed us in and got us to email it to them
we asked about late departure told would have to find out ---- still waiting !!!
ripped safety instructions on door
no information about hotel facilities in room
when i went down and asked met with disinterest
booking included breakfast so started getting food to be stopped and told hot food not included
did i want to pay extra !!! what a way to treat guests 5 minutes later was told its all ok enjoy your meal
we did enjoy a swim in the spout pool despite the shower being disconnected and the pool surrounds filthy
dangerously torn carpet on access stairway also light over this not working
the view from the room was nice though

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwidigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The facilities of the property is a bit outdated but hey the bed is soft and when you look out at from your sliding door you get the perfect view of the geysers..! simply remarkable.

definitely a motel type not a hotel.

The service was excellent but the facilities was the downer..at the end of the day I had a decent shower, a good sleep and a great view! - will be coming back soon and will request a higher floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Regards Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We paid 69nzd/night through a voucher. Although the room was clean, the bed was too small for 2 adults to sleep in, and uncomfortable. We arrived on a Thursday night and they didn`t want to turn on the heating system, until Friday night, so it was quite cold in the room ( we did get a small heater though). Very noisy as well. We could hear everything that our neighbours were talking. Staff seemed ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacr1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Got a cheap deal from wotif for this place. This should have been a clue to the quality of the hotel.
The room itself is basic, but for the price we can forgive that.
My main issue was the bad service we received. The alarm in the vacant room next door started going off just before 6am, and is one of those annoying clock radio types that does not shut off after a set amount of time.
Whoever was working at the time hung up continually. We could hear voices in the background. Reception locked, nothing do but listen to the soothing tones of beep beep beep beep...
To top it off there was no milk in the room to make coffee whilst trying to get some one to do something about it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryza100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#22 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing