We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience New Zealand !”

Horse Trekking Lake Okareka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Horse Trekking Lake Okareka you can explore 1500 acres of rolling sheep and cattle producing farmland on horseback. You will go on a guided trek through 500 acres of native bush between the volcanic Lake Okareka, Lake Tarawera and the famous Blue and Green Lakes. We have horses to suit all abilities. This is a horse rider’s paradise with stunning panoramic views. We cater for small groups of 1 – 12 people providing you with an exclusive riding experience.
Delft
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Experience New Zealand !”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a wonderful experience ! Wind blazing around your ears on a beautiful and friendly (and cheeky) horse between thousands of sheep and with stunning views of New Zealand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartijnDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    27
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely guide, very well behaved horses. Wonderful experience.
We had TK and Joe to ride. Very calm and willing horses. Will definitely come back again.
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skoobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I felt very spoilt having a one on one 2 hour ride with Lucy (& Katie). Even though it was a cloudy day the views were still stunning and the ride was fabulous. I absolutely loved it - thank you so much - I will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 958Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sightseeing on horse back !”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first time riding a horse. Many thanks to Lucy and her team for taking such good care of us during the bush trek and imparting us with invaluable knowledge on handling the horse when going uphill or downhill or when the horse is feeling peckish and keeps on wanting to deviate from the path to snack on the leaves beside the path! We completed the trek with not a hair less but with wonderful photos of the sights along the way, and of course greater enthusiasm for our second horse trek someday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect horses, sweet tour guides, amazing surrounding - perfect trek!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved our trip with "our" horses Cassie and Peanut. Both horses were just great; sound, friendly, motivated and pretty good to handle. Two very sweet British girls (sorry, forgot about the name) took us out onto a trek that couldn't have been any better. Since I am a passionate rider myself they just gave me the perfect horse that suited "my" needs and they made sure that we had loads of fun and plenty of time to enjoy this gorgeous area. We just loved every minute! Thank's again for this wonderful trip. (Marius and Franzi)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranziskaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Trekking Lake Okareka also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Horse Trekking Lake Okareka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing