We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to stay in such a beautiful place while visiting Rotorua. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the lake view is beautiful. The rooms reminded me of the Firmdale Hotel Group in London & NYC -- a big compliment! Enchanting and relaxing. The lovely young staff could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    21
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
116
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Black Swan while travelling round New Zealand with friends. We were very comfortable there. It had all the amenities we like, good breakfast, swimming pool and an accessible lake, wifi.
On arrival we were greeted by Gretchen who apologised saying that one of our rooms had to be downgraded due to plumbing problems, we were extremely happy with the alternative pool view room, it was certainly not a down grade. (Gretchen was very attentive, she worked very long hours and was always available, a real treasure.). The public rooms are well located overlooking the attractive gardens and lake..
We had 2 good dinners in associated properties in Rotorua, the bistro and the hotel. Transport was efficiently laid on for us.
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes small b&b-lodge type places.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stumbled on to this charming property as we had booked the Regent.
While at the front desk of the Regent we noticed information about the Black Swan. We drove about 5 minutes from the Regent in the center of Rotorua to the Black Swan. We were instantly charmed and booked it for 2 nights. The grounds are spectacular complete with beautifully manicured gardens on Lake Rotorua. Our room was small but beautiful with a lovely bathroom and a beautiful view of the lake. The dining area was superb with panoramic views of the lake and made to order wonderful breakfast. The staff was excellent and the attention to detail at the Black Swan is exquisite. The swimming pool and sauna are lovely and we thoroughly treasured every minute we spent at the Black Swan. Darren, one of the two owners along with Brett, is incredibly charming and fun to be around. There are only 8 rooms so book early for a fabulous experience in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was one of the finest locations of our New Zealand trip. A beautiful lake side property has excellently appointed rooms, with every convenience, managed by an out of the ordinary manager who responds to every wish or need. Worth making the trip just for this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but try to get one on the entry level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Brent & Darryn have done a wonderful job of creating a very special,sister property to their Regents Hotel in Rotorura. I mention this because we were originally scheduled for the latter property when our traveling companion was injured and had to return to the States. Darryn found us a last minute spot at The Black Swan. It's a renovated property on the lake. Beautiful, well appointed room with a spacious bathroom and panoramic view of the lake. Gretchen, manager of the property, is a great hostess and provided breakfast in the upstairs common area appointed with furnishings from Europe. This property is comfortable, classy and a great place to just hang out and relax. Darryn went out of his way to help us organize local activities, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Dinner at the Regent's restaurant didn't disappoint. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel situated on lakeside and as promised black swans swimming close by.

Very welcoming host, very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful bedroom overlooking the lake, lovely furnishing and bed linens.

Lovely gardens complete with swimming pool and beautiful garden furniture.

Breakfast tasty and very well presented.

Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Pros:

• Hip stylish décor
• Nice appointed modern and spotless bathroom
• Very friendly, helpful and accommodating front desk/hotel manager – Gretchen
• Lovely view of lake - peaceful and quiet
• Exterior of hotel is lovely


Cons:

• For $799 NZD/night, we were very disappointed in our experience overall. Yes, the hotel is nicely decorated and secluded but not much else is as advertised. We felt the website mis-represented quite a lot, especially given the price. We stay at boutique hotels all over the world and understand what is generally the norm for location, service and amenities. This hotel comes up lacking I'm afraid.
• There are three guest rooms on ground floor, two of which are right next to entrance and check-in/reception “table”. I say “table” because it is just a small table. The room we were given was very small and located right across from “check in”. Thus we were able to hear other guests checking in or asking questions from within our room. Also we barely had space for our 2 large luggages and 2 carry-on's. (We were on a month long trip)
• We had to lug our own luggage into room – no porter, no help at all – at both check in and check out. No offer to help at all from manager.
• No restaurant, just a breakfast area – they have to order dinner from a caterer and charge $95 PP for 4-course meal. Very pricey so we decided to cancel and go out for a more reasonable meal. Breakfast was decent but very basic, with almost limited, choice of options. Remember we paid $799 NZD for a night!
• We got the impression from their website that the hotel and grounds were much larger. It is described on their website as “expansive grounds” and “sweeping lawns” but that is not so. It is about the average of a suburban home and backyard anywhere in the US. The “secret grotto” is pretty but is no more than 15 feet long and 7 feet wide with four chairs and an end table. The hotel itself is located right in the middle of a residential neighborhood. On one end of hotel property, there is a home literally right next door. Their balcony overlooks the hotel's small parking lot.
• They also list “spa services” on their website which makes it sound like there is spa on site, but we did not find one. Likely a massage therapist comes to very tiny room. Again we feel it was mis-represented.
• Never found the heli-pad and have no idea how the helicopter could have fit.
• As stated, it is a residential neighborhood. We would have never found it without GPS. It's surely tucked away.

Room Tip: If you want to have a quiet stay make sure you don't get two rooms on ground level next to "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
3.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel

Property: Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Address: 171 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing