We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast,friendly and delicious ”
Review of Picnic Cafe

Picnic Cafe
Ranked #9 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fast,friendly and delicious ”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited there on basis of trip advisor rating ( highest ranking breakfast in Rotorua ). Picnic cafe stood up well to the ratings it has received. Eggs benne and omelette great. Good coffee, allpress which is our favourite brand. Friendly service. We'll be back

Helpful?
Thank buck8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    154
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've eaten here on several occasions over the past couple of years and have never been disappointed. Great coffee, friendly service and yummy food. I would totally recommend eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I ate here recently with my daughter and son. We were very impressed with menu and food. My daughter reckons it was the best Eggs Benedict she had ever had. I had a Rare Beef Salad which also was very good. Best part of that was the salad tho, rare beef was ok, but veges were great! The other meals was mussel fritters which was also goo. Try their smoothies - they are so good. Best fresh smoothie I have ever had. Quite a small cafe, but friendly staff and a good area to sit outside also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

When we were visiting rotorua we decided to have breakfast in cafe Picnic opposite the Novotel hotel we stayed in. The atmosphere was relaxed and some light jazz music was playing. The staff was helpful and friendly and showed us a table. The menu was diverse and the dishes we chose were eggs benedict and pancakes with bacon, banana and syrup. We were served after a short while and the coffee and dishes came at the same time. The food tasted excellent and the coffee was strong and with good flavor.
This cafe is worth a visit and deserves to be in the top list of Rotorua.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe near Novotel and other restaurants”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely French toast - comes with compote and fantastic presentation. Chicken crepes were a bit on the creamy side. Had heaps of people coming in for afternoon cakes and coffees. Dishes are about $15-20.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Picnic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing