We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed four nights at Holdens Bay but only had to pay for three so that was a great start! The cabin we stayed in was clean and tidy with plenty of heating which was just as well as it was cold! I guess the only downside was that the units and decor were a bit tired and dated and we found the bed and couch not overly comfortable. However, the staff were really friendly and it's not too far to drive to all the attractions in Rotorua. Yes the airport is nearby but the planes don't fly through the night so it wasn't an issue and the kids loved the trampoline and playground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you very much for your review. We are always happy to receive these & appreciate your thoughts.

We are happy to hear that the Unit was clean, staff was friendly, the kids enjoyed the playground and that the Unit was warm enough on those chilly nights.

Thank you for letting us know in regards to the bed & couch, we will certainly look into this. We are aware of the old decor and are hoping to get a start on some upgrading soon on some of the Units. Due to the older decor etc we have our pricing fair to reflect the standard of the rooms.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback & we do hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Many Thanks
Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived at around 5pm, were greeted with a guy at the reception. He was very knowledgable of the area and very helpful in answering all of our questions. Location was okay, about 10min or maybe less drive to town, lil bit out of town but we were happy. Only looked for affordable overnight stay, not the facility. standard campy site bathrooms. overall it met our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mspacet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We are always happy to hear when our Guest's expectations are met and we are always happy to help our Guests as much as possible with the knowledge we have.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank You
Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our second stay at Holdens Bay this January, where we met up with friends on the way home from somewhere else. We stay in units. Both our units were clean and tidy, ours did have issue with flies coming into it but I guess mainly because it was so hot we had all doors and windows open! Holdens Bay is excellent value for money, yes some things are looking a little worn, however you do expect this for the price you pay. Our kids love the pool and the playground and it is a short drive to town or to launch boat at the end of the road. yes there is an airport close but this airport is not Heathrow and therefore the odd plane when you are around is not too much of an issue. Never heard one at night, first one usually around 7am! Note that this park has gone into liquidation and is now being managed by previous employees whilst liquidators work on selling it. The staff were very friendly and helped us with minor issue we had quickly and friendly. Due to the liquidation it is no longer a top 10. I wouldn't personally stay here for a long period but it suits us just fine for our short visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Firstly my apologies for the late reply. As you are aware the Park has been going through a lot of changes.

I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, we value and appreciate it very much. We are happy to hear that we could meet your expectations with the Pool, Playground and Fair Pricing of our Accommodation. We aim to offer our Guests Budget Accommoation and are pleased to know that we do.

We are in the process of planning the upgrade of Accommodtion etc with the Council and hope to get this underway in the near future. Therefore we do hope to be of service to you again in even if its just a short visit or feel free to just pop around and say hallo and check out any changes.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Pros: value for money accommodation, friendly & helpful staff, great playground area for children, swimming pool, spa
Conns: location on out skirts of town, old buildings, flight path for nearby airport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreese005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Firstly my apologies for only responding to your review now.

I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate it very much. It is great to hear all your Pros in regards to our Park and to know we met your expectations. Thank you also very much for the Conns as these are just as important, unfortunatley there isnt much we can do about the Aiport but I am happy to say that we are in the process of planning in regards to the upgrade of Accommodation in the near future. This will all take time but the end result will be worth the wait.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a special deal for this holiday park for two nights. It is a bit out of town but that was perfect for us this time around.

However - the Holiday Park is right in the flight path of the Rotorua Airport - though no night flights after 10 or so and none before 6.30am - but still.. having planes with their landing gear already out going overhead is not that ideal..

The unit we stayed in was rather small - my brother actually moved his bedding to the couch outside to have a bit more room. However it was all clean and the staff is friendly - so no complaints there

Basically if you need something that is good value for money and don't mind driving (and the planes) this is ok for you

Room Tip: Try their private Spa Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for your comments I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our large private hot pool. As for the planes We are 3 km away from the air port . Sorry about the small unit they are used when we have our special deals great for a weekend away for a couple we could have up graded you to a 2 bedroom motel unit had we knowing that you were Brother and Sister. I do hope you enjoyed Rotorua and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Keri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

we at stayed there in feb for a week and i wouldnt recommend this park to anybody the cabins we stayed in the bunks had no ladders and the smoke dtectors didnt work

Room Tip: dont stay here go into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Holiday Park, We have a regular 4 week check of all our smoke alarms as to our fire security warrant of fitness.
Our staff are more than happy to help at any time we have a 24 hour service.
I am so sorry about the bunks in your cabin did not have a ladder we have looked into this and assure this will be taken care off.
We do value your comments and this helps us to make it a better stay.
Kind Regards
Keri
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and we weren't impressed at all - the place was in desparate need of a good scrub. The floor in the bathroom and toilet looked and felt like it hadn't been cleaned for months - the shower curtain was grimmy and smelt and the shower floor was sticky. Ran out of hot water midway through our showers - and we have quick showers! The sheets were clean but the blankets on all 4 beds were dirty and worst of all there was specks of blood on the blankets on the childrens bunk beds! - we didn't use the blankets. The owner was pretty much grumpy all the time and yelled at some children to stop kicking a ball - she runs a holiday park! - the young staff made up for her as they were very pleasant and helpful. Overall the kids had fun in the pool and playground and in stark contrast to the room the bbq's were clean but we wouldn't stay here again especially as the price per night is the same as a good hotel. Top 10? - i think not.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OurWhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We do value your comments her at the Holiday Park on a good point I am so happy that your children enjoyed the large swimming pool and our large adventure play ground and trampolines and so please that you enjoyed our lovely BBQ area.
As for me yelling at children for kicking a ball around cabins and units we have many broken windows around the park a year by children kicking balls I am trying to keep this down to a minimum. We do have space out the back to kick a ball.
As for the cleaning of the room our cleaners change shower curtains sheets ECT every time a cabin, unit is vacated they wash and vacuumed all floors. I am so sorry that you found this room unclean and only wish you had come in and seen us at reception and it would have been dealt with straight away.
Once again my sincere apologies.
Kind Regards
Keri
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotorua
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 55 in Rotorua District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lake House Rotorua
The Lake House Rotorua
#27 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
6.3 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdens Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdens Bay Holiday Park

Property: Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 - 7 Stonebridge Park Drive, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Holdens Bay Top 10 Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holdens Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Holdens Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing