We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour to Wai-O-Tapu”

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours
Ranked #26 of 59 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A SMILE. Discover the Grumpy's Experience and enjoy our Mini Tours which include transport and attractions, join us on a guided tour to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland and other geothermal wonders on our 'Hot as' tours. Get around easily within Rotorua with Grumpy's All Day or 48h pass. Grumpy's will get you where you need to be - with quotes to anywhere, from anywhere!
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour to Wai-O-Tapu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had one full day in Rotorua, and wanted to see some of the thermal sights. We didn't have a car, so booked a half day tour with Grumpy's, and were very pleased that we had. We were picked up from our motel by Grumpy himself, and as others had cancelled due to the (very light!) rain, we were the only ones on the tour. Despite his name, Grumpy was very friendly and entertaining. He showed us some of the sights around Rotorua before heading out to the the mud pools, Lady Knox geyser and Wai-O-Tapu itself. Grumpy came with us and shared his extensive knowledge, which made the visit even more worthwhile. We highly recommend Grumpy's tours!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank InformalAlchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wai - O - Tapu Guided Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

An interesting tour of Wai - O - Tapu with Grumpy's is as good as it can possibly get. Our driver guide Mr Grumpy made the trip very exciting by providing a fabulous insight of the Thermal Wonderland. I'd definitely recommend Grumpy's for any tours in Rotorua.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Grumpy's were the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My 13year old daughter (Melissa) and I were travelling via bus through the North Island. We stayed at Malfroy Lodge where Grumpy's were recommended. Pam and Grumpy were amazing. Such great value and interesting stories. Pam excelled, when we realised we had left our backpack on a bench in a park, iand t was nearly dark we called her,she rushed over picked us up and raced us to the park where thankfully the backpack was still sitting. Thanks Pam xxx

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour, like being taken around by your friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I took the Wai-o-tapu morning trip (pre-booked it over email); there was only me and one other guest from the hotel. The guide/driver was a friendly energetic lady, I believe her name is Lynda. She drove us around town before taking us to Wai-o-tapu and all along the way she told us the interesting stories about Rotorua. This personalized touch did make a big difference for any visit to Rotorua; which is already a great place to visit. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First rate tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had 3 couples and took a tour with Grumpy during Celebrity cruise of New Zealand in March. Hhe picked us up at Tauranga and returned us to the port after the tour. He only does small groups and does not bother with large tours or cruise ship group tours. He used to do them but did not feel he was able to give quality tours with large group settings. He is right and he gave us an excellent tour of all sites in and near Rotorua. He visited every site we requested and was a fountain of info on all of them. I especially enjoyed his friendly and competitive banter with an Aussie couple who joined us for the tour - lots of fun. We also had the opportunity of meeting his wife who joined us for a quick and tasty lunch. She was so helpful in helping arrange the tour over the Internet. I recommend Grumpy highly and he had many interesting stories, including how he got his name - you need to hear that story. One of the best tours we had on our 1 month trip to Australia and NZ.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skipendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Transfers & Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing