We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy's were the best.”

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours
Ranked #26 of 59 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A SMILE. Discover the Grumpy's Experience and enjoy our Mini Tours which include transport and attractions, join us on a guided tour to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland and other geothermal wonders on our 'Hot as' tours. Get around easily within Rotorua with Grumpy's All Day or 48h pass. Grumpy's will get you where you need to be - with quotes to anywhere, from anywhere!
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Grumpy's were the best.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My 13year old daughter (Melissa) and I were travelling via bus through the North Island. We stayed at Malfroy Lodge where Grumpy's were recommended. Pam and Grumpy were amazing. Such great value and interesting stories. Pam excelled, when we realised we had left our backpack on a bench in a park, iand t was nearly dark we called her,she rushed over picked us up and raced us to the park where thankfully the backpack was still sitting. Thanks Pam xxx

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour, like being taken around by your friend”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I took the Wai-o-tapu morning trip (pre-booked it over email); there was only me and one other guest from the hotel. The guide/driver was a friendly energetic lady, I believe her name is Lynda. She drove us around town before taking us to Wai-o-tapu and all along the way she told us the interesting stories about Rotorua. This personalized touch did make a big difference for any visit to Rotorua; which is already a great place to visit. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First rate tour”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had 3 couples and took a tour with Grumpy during Celebrity cruise of New Zealand in March. Hhe picked us up at Tauranga and returned us to the port after the tour. He only does small groups and does not bother with large tours or cruise ship group tours. He used to do them but did not feel he was able to give quality tours with large group settings. He is right and he gave us an excellent tour of all sites in and near Rotorua. He visited every site we requested and was a fountain of info on all of them. I especially enjoyed his friendly and competitive banter with an Aussie couple who joined us for the tour - lots of fun. We also had the opportunity of meeting his wife who joined us for a quick and tasty lunch. She was so helpful in helping arrange the tour over the Internet. I recommend Grumpy highly and he had many interesting stories, including how he got his name - you need to hear that story. One of the best tours we had on our 1 month trip to Australia and NZ.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skipendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous day”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 4 had a wonderful day with, Grumpy. Making arrangements online was very easy and Grumpy himself met us at the pier even though our ship was late. After reading some travel guides I had an idea of some of the things I wanted to see and we did most of them and a lot more. We started with a tour of the area which is absolutely beautiful. We saw a kiwi orchard and sampled some kiwi jam and wine then went on to Te Puia to see a Maori village and the geothermal reserve while Grumpy shared a wealth of information. He obviously is proud of his home and loves to share it with his guests. We had a great take- out lunch at a beautiful rosé garden and then toured the area seeing the Blue and Green Lakes and breath-taking views. We went for a walk and had ice cream at Lake Tarawera, which was spectacular. It was our first day in New Zealand and Grumoy made it memorable. I'm sorry that we couldn't have spent more time with him.

Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm Commander Shepherd and this is my favourite bus on the citadel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

While staying in Rotorua, my friends and I encountered a problem whereby we couldn't rent a car due to our age. However, the owners of the hotel that we were staying at recommended Grumpy to us, and we were very glad they did. The drivers were all very friendly (Grumpy himself certainly isn't as grumpy as we'd expected) and the pricing for each trip was very fair. We used Grumpy for almost every trip we made in and around Rotorua, and never experienced a lengthy wait for transport.
I'd also like to extend a special thank you to the Grumpy's staff for helping me to find my wallet after I lost it, they really went above and beyond the call of duty to help.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Transfers & Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing