We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day in New Zealand!”

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours
Ranked #26 of 62 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A SMILE. Discover the Grumpy's Experience and enjoy our Mini Tours which include transport and attractions, join us on a guided tour to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland and other geothermal wonders on our 'Hot as' tours. Get around easily within Rotorua with Grumpy's All Day or 48h pass. Grumpy's will get you where you need to be - with quotes to anywhere, from anywhere!
Reviewed January 21, 2013

On a Princess cruise from New Zealand to Australia, our best single day was spent in Tauranga (Rotorua), a thermal area, thanks to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours. Our guide, Grumpy (yes, that's his real name), is a resident of Rotorua, a town built in a volcanic crater. With six of us traveling together, we were able to book his van for the entire day with an open agenda. He suggested some spots and offered us choices on others.He was waiting for us at the dock and timed our first stop for the local kiwi farm. It was a pleasant surprise, as we were able to see how the kiwis are grown and then taste gold kiwis, kiwi wine, kiwi liqueurs, and various other kiwi products. Grumpy filled us in on the local geology as he took us through some exclusive neighborhoods. In Rotorua we were amazed to see steam vents and bubbling mud pots a few hundred feet from local homes. For our group, the take-out lunch at an award-winning fish and chips place was a highlight (eaten on a picnic table at the local rose garden). We chose to see a local sheep-shearing demonstration, as it was our only opportunity during the cruise to get a glimpse of New Zealand's big export industry. Regrettably, we had to pass on the chance to roll down the local hillside in a giant plastic ball or race one another on the bicycle monorail nearby. Maybe next trip. Grumpy finished by showing us some beautiful local lakes that include some of the finest trout-fishing areas in the world. By the time he was done, we were ready to get our poles and move to the area!

Thank norcalcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our service. Your comments are very much appreciated, as was your company on the day.
The team at Grumpy's are very proud that you have chosen us as your best day out in New Zealand many thanks for that.
New Zealand is only a small country but , as you have seen, we have a lot to offer our overseas tourists.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your day out with Grumpy's and we wish you happy and successful travels in the future.
Our lovely environment will be here waiting for you if you are able to return to our shores and of course we would be delighted to see you all again.
Kindest regards to you all from Grumpy and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We used Grumpy's for their all day travel pass and also a Rotorua and Taupo tour, and we can highly recommend them. Linda, who picked us up from the airport and shuttled us around Rotorua, was wonderful and very helpful. Ralph, who took us on the full day tour the next day, was excellent and a fountain of information. Grumpy's is clearly the best bet in Rotorua!

Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Hello and thank you for your very positive review.
Linda and Ralph are thrilled with your reaction to their enthusiasm, which, we are pleased to say, seems to rub off on everyone who tours with them. The "Grumpy's" guides are known for going out to "Play" rather than going out to "Work" and it shows when they receive great reviews such as yours.
We wish you very happy times in all of your touring ventures in the future and also Season's Greetings.
With sincere best wishes from Grumpy, Pam, Linda and Ralph as well as the rest of the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When planning our port visit to Rototua, we sifted through tripadvisor.com and settled on Grumpy Ed. He met us at the pier (we were on a cruise), escorted us EVERYWHERE worth going and made us feel more like family than clients. When we stopped at a hot spring near the Museum, another tour operator pulled up in a "Duck" and told his folks "Say Hi! to Grumpy!" which all the folks did. The message was not lost - we'd picked a guide know and respected by the other tour operators in the area! Grumpy was a delightful host and knows the area like the back of his hand! He will tailor his tour to what you want to see - just let him know.
It is not likely we'll be back in New Zealand, but if we're in his neck of the woods, you can bet your bottom dollar, we'll be contacting Grumpy!

Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Hi again and thank you for your great review and of course the TWO headline words you chose!
I really enjoyed the day with you all, which was made so easy by your wonderful attitude towards everything we saw and did. Great memories for all of us, including the "ConDuckTor" who I saw recently. He also passes on his best wishes to you all for the festive season and like us, would welcome you back to our steamy city at any time. We look forward to catching up with you again in the future, when and wherever that may be.
Kindest regards to you all and again, thanks for the wonderful memories.
Grumpy, Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our hotel in Rotorua (Ibis) referred us to Grumpy's transfer service to get us from the airport to the hotel. Another couple traveled with us to the hotel. As conversations started, we realized we all wanted to go to the Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park for the 2:30 lion feeding and petting of the lion cubs. Grumpy made sure we got checked into our hotel and met us in time to make the lion feeding. Grumpy even agreed to return to pick us up and return us to the hotel. We used his service for the rest of our stay at Rotorua including his Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland tour. The fully guided tour by Grumpy's was very informative, fun and included extra sights on the drive to and from. I would highly recommend Grumpy's service to anyone visiting Rotorua.

Thank Darlene_and_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks for your great review. Really pleased you enjoyed several of our services including the "Fantastic" Waiotapu trip. It really is a different environment to be in!
We wish you well with all your future travels and you will always be welcome at Grumpy's in Rotorua.
Kind regards and happy touring from Grumpy, Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If it weren't for the front desk staff of our hotel, we would have never known about this service. It was great! Pam and Grumpy himself drove my husband and I around pretty much the whole day, and we never had to share our rides with any other people. They took us all around town, picked us up from our hotel and took us to Te Puia geysers, then back to our hotel only to pick us 30min later per our request. Then off to Agroventures, and from there to the Skyline gondola, and back to our hotel again. They were very nice, informative about Rotorua, and very prompt. Highly, highly recommend using them as opposed to any other driving service! Thank you Grumpy's!

Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the very positive review. They are always appreciated. The Hotels are happy to support us because we really do care about their clients and they know that we will always do our best to ensure that everyone has a really good time in our magnificent thermal city.
We hope you enjoyed your stay and we also hope that we will see you again one day in our part of the world.
Kind regards and happy travels, from from Grumpy and Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Transfers & Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing