We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In A Word - Outstanding Tour (OK, 2 words)”

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours
Ranked #26 of 62 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A SMILE. Discover the Grumpy's Experience and enjoy our Mini Tours which include transport and attractions, join us on a guided tour to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland and other geothermal wonders on our 'Hot as' tours. Get around easily within Rotorua with Grumpy's All Day or 48h pass. Grumpy's will get you where you need to be - with quotes to anywhere, from anywhere!
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When planning our port visit to Rototua, we sifted through tripadvisor.com and settled on Grumpy Ed. He met us at the pier (we were on a cruise), escorted us EVERYWHERE worth going and made us feel more like family than clients. When we stopped at a hot spring near the Museum, another tour operator pulled up in a "Duck" and told his folks "Say Hi! to Grumpy!" which all the folks did. The message was not lost - we'd picked a guide know and respected by the other tour operators in the area! Grumpy was a delightful host and knows the area like the back of his hand! He will tailor his tour to what you want to see - just let him know.
It is not likely we'll be back in New Zealand, but if we're in his neck of the woods, you can bet your bottom dollar, we'll be contacting Grumpy!

Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Hi again and thank you for your great review and of course the TWO headline words you chose!
I really enjoyed the day with you all, which was made so easy by your wonderful attitude towards everything we saw and did. Great memories for all of us, including the "ConDuckTor" who I saw recently. He also passes on his best wishes to you all for the festive season and like us, would welcome you back to our steamy city at any time. We look forward to catching up with you again in the future, when and wherever that may be.
Kindest regards to you all and again, thanks for the wonderful memories.
Grumpy, Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our hotel in Rotorua (Ibis) referred us to Grumpy's transfer service to get us from the airport to the hotel. Another couple traveled with us to the hotel. As conversations started, we realized we all wanted to go to the Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park for the 2:30 lion feeding and petting of the lion cubs. Grumpy made sure we got checked into our hotel and met us in time to make the lion feeding. Grumpy even agreed to return to pick us up and return us to the hotel. We used his service for the rest of our stay at Rotorua including his Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland tour. The fully guided tour by Grumpy's was very informative, fun and included extra sights on the drive to and from. I would highly recommend Grumpy's service to anyone visiting Rotorua.

Thank Darlene_and_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Many thanks for your great review. Really pleased you enjoyed several of our services including the "Fantastic" Waiotapu trip. It really is a different environment to be in!
We wish you well with all your future travels and you will always be welcome at Grumpy's in Rotorua.
Kind regards and happy touring from Grumpy, Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If it weren't for the front desk staff of our hotel, we would have never known about this service. It was great! Pam and Grumpy himself drove my husband and I around pretty much the whole day, and we never had to share our rides with any other people. They took us all around town, picked us up from our hotel and took us to Te Puia geysers, then back to our hotel only to pick us 30min later per our request. Then off to Agroventures, and from there to the Skyline gondola, and back to our hotel again. They were very nice, informative about Rotorua, and very prompt. Highly, highly recommend using them as opposed to any other driving service! Thank you Grumpy's!

Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the very positive review. They are always appreciated. The Hotels are happy to support us because we really do care about their clients and they know that we will always do our best to ensure that everyone has a really good time in our magnificent thermal city.
We hope you enjoyed your stay and we also hope that we will see you again one day in our part of the world.
Kind regards and happy travels, from from Grumpy and Pam and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a wonderful tour with Grumpy,lots of Aussie,Kiwi,humour amongst a very informative tour.Any question asked about Rotorua Grumpy had the answer for us.We were a family with ages ranging from 83 down to 17 and all of us had a wonderful arfternoon,there werte some wonderful extras thrown in,such as OGO and an interesting insight into areas off the beaten track!This was the best guided tour I have ever been on,highly recomended by all of us!Will look him up on our next visit.

Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Really pleased you all enjoyed yourselves. Kiwis and Aussies have a great relationship and we are always thrilled to be able to share a little of our scenery and attractions with you all.
Who would have thought that rolling down a hill in a big plastic ball could be so much fun? We all get a big kick out of seeing so many people enjoying themselves on our tours.
Thanks for the great comments and you will be very welcome if you can get back to our shores again.
All the best for your future travels, from Grumpy and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the best afternoon with Grumpy's tour. Not only did he take us to the planned Wai-O-Tapu thermal wonderland and was a wealth of knowledge, he took us on many little detours to interesting local spots. We even met his friend Moot the goat, where we stopped to give him a blueberry muffin,. Grumpy was a real fun person to spend the afternnon with, he made us laugh alot. At the end of the planned tour we asked about those big rubber balls that roll down the hills - only needed to mention this and off we went to OGO where we piled into the big rubber ball and zig zagged down the hill. It was such a blast. My sister and I hadn't laughed so hard in ages. After this, we piled back into his van thinking we would be dropped off back at our hotel after more than meeting the expectations of a great afternoon, but Grumpy took us on a tiki tour of Rotorua. At the end of the day it was sad to say goodbye. This was the best personal tour I've ever been on. I'm bringing the rest of my family back to meet Grumpy next time.

Thank Phenella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpyslimo, Owner at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

What a delight it is to be able to offer more than is expected. We are very pleased that you both enjoyed your time with Grumpy's. Thank you for entering into the spirit of the tour. We also thoroughly enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you and your family again when you are in our steamy city. Kindest regards from Grumpy and the team at Grumpy's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Transfers & Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing