We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delighting Tastebuds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Rice Thai Cuisine

Wild Rice Thai Cuisine
Ranked #35 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fantastic Thai cuisine in "East Street" Rotorua
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delighting Tastebuds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited when renovations works were being done near the restaurant and it was pretty quiet. We were recommended to try this restaurant from a local friend and we enjoyed the food very much. Although we have tasted better Thai cuisine, this is pretty authentic and the curry mutton tasted superb! Their Phad Thai was very good as well. If you are craving for Thai cuisine in Rotorua, this is the place to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KaZsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    109
    53
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst xmas dinner at wild rice thai rotorua!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Worst xmas in wild rice thai! We waited forever for our orders. After 45 minutes the waiter csme by to say that we have to wait for anothet 10 minutes as they mistakenly gave our food to another customers. We just left immediately to go to a nearby resto to feed our poor hungry selves. Wild rice was not even crowded that night. Worst thai resto ever!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irked47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in for lunch. The service was good. The Thai meals we ordered met our expectations as the food was tasty. Very good value for a very good lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Doesn't taste like Thai”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my family for dinner and we had stir fry pork, cashew chicken and tom yum as recommended by the staff. We told them we like spicy food but they recommended dishes that tasted similar (seasoned by oyster sauce) and not spicy. The food is very different from the food in thailand and is clearly not authentic at all. I have eaten Thai in many countries even Thailand itself. Try another restaurant if you are expecting spicy, flavourful, authentic Thai food.

Helpful?
2 Thank hwfelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
388 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Average Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located in the Restaurant Strip of Rotorua (very touristy...). Simple Thai place with simple interior.
Staff friendly and helpful, but low key.
Food: most of the dishes are OK, but a bit tasteless - so nothing really to complain but also nothing particularly Special, just OK.
Conclusion:OK if you rave for Thai Food but do not expect anything Special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Rice Thai Cuisine also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wild Rice Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing