We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value for money”
Review of Rob Roy Motel

Rob Roy Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rob Roy Motel
Ranked #42 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Rooms somewhat dated but tidy and comfort. Cooking facilities bit lacking. But overall a reasonable place to stay. Parking a bit tight if place is busy. Does have private spa pools which is good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

On the plus side the room was big and the owners friendly and reasonably helpful. Very tired 1970's feel due a major refit or maybe just a bulldozer. Big minus was the room had only seen superficial cleaning, thick dust everywhere grubby walls and the cooking gear was not really clean. Rubbish and junk stacked up outside wasn't attractive. Parking is first-in and very tight - get in early and watch the endless manoevering going on. Grateful to have a place to stay after booking late for a busy period but paid top dollar and didn't feel like we got value. Would take pot luck elsewhere given a choice next time. Oh, and watch the electrics in the thermal pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wow this motel is from the 70's tired and dated BUT it feels like when you visited your Grand mother back when you were 9- you knew exactly where everything was because nothing was ever moved and the MAJOR reason it had that warm wrap around feeling was thanks to PAM and the motel dog who loves people. I am incredibly fussy about hygiene but after my nose curled a couple of times I realised it wasn't dirty - just old
A few things on the - side there were 3 single beds in the bedroom ( we had a 1 bedroom apartment ) PLUS 2 singles and a double in the main lounge area so it felt a little crowded and the mineral pools could do with a seat area in the pool as it was quite deep
I felt it was quite steep to pay $200 a night- although to be fair it was Easter weekend
MAJOR + side like I said Pam and doggy - both of whom had big hearts nothing seemed like too much trouble and very friendly

Room Tip: we were upstairs - I imagine downstairs gets a lot of thoroughfare noise but easier access if your a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki-mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My family and I spent 2 nights here. There were 5 adults in a two bedroom apartment. This 2 bed is advertised to sleep up tp 7. In reality it was just big enough for 5. The apartment was clean and comfortable with its own hot sulphur pool.
The location was good with supermarkets and the town center within walking distance.
The apartments are a little dated but the reception staff were lovely and you'll meet Homer the dog....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anname47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The proprietor has a large dog. Not good for asthmatics. Strong sulphur smell too. Needed the fan running all day. No air con, especially in the bathroom. Overpriced for outdated and tired facilites. Parking very very tight - everyday was a nuisance looking for owners to cars so that we could get out - most belonged to employees of the motel. The owners were accommodating and refunded the remaining 3 nights we were to stay there. Will not stay again.

Room Tip: Very strong sulphur smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed two nights - it was value for money for a large group but everything is old and very dated. A little worried that there are no smoke detectors which i would have thought was mandatory. Well supplied for a big family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our netball team stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. We had a 2 bedroom unit and it fit all 7 of us comfortably. Was a bit worried after reading the bad reviews, but for what we paid (which was cheaper than all the local backpackers) we got a bargain, the rooms were all clean, we were welcomed and shown to and around our room, despite it raining cats and dogs when we arrived. The lady got us all sorted in the spa too. If you want to stay somewhere fancy you have to pay for it, stop giving this place a bad rep. Id stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#57 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#84 of 92 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Motel

Property: Rob Roy Motel
Address: 291 Fenton Street | Rotorua Central, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rob Roy Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rob Roy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing