We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for more than 1 night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rob Roy Motel

Rob Roy Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rob Roy Motel
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not for more than 1 night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived with family for a one night stay between Christmas and New Year and the first impression was not good. The garden at the front is very overgrown and unkempt and the blinds at the windows were broken - not a good look! We had a studio room for ourselves.
The room was very dated, but was clean and the shower was good pressure. The bed, however, was rock hard and we had an uncomfortable night.
We did not use the hot pools, but had a look and the one we saw looked as though it needed a good repaint.
The Indian couple running the motel were lovely and could not do enough for us.
I would not stay here for longer than 1 night. I think it needs shutting down room by room and every room refurbished to a much higher degree. The price we paid was very nearly too much for the standard we got.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredanddusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The problem was that I was late arriving at Rob Roy. Had I arrived in 1974 I would have appreciated the up to date styling, the beautiful orange curtains, brown and orange bed spreads, avacado bathroom suite and gorgeous formica coffee table.
The motel, as you'd expect from the name, has a strong Scotish theme so it stands to reason it is run by an Indian couple. They were lovely and very attentive, dealing with any problems quickly. They also took excellent care of the two hot mineral pools on site (although these desparately need a coat of paint).
On the down side, the room was terrible. As well as being about 30 years out of date I found it extremely noisey with lots of traffic passing by all night long. The beds were variously very hard or very soft with neither position providing any comfort which resulted in a poor quality of sleep.
By far the worst room was the bathroom. It was dark, dingy and the toilet floor looked dirty. The taps were so close to the back of the sink that it was impossible to wash my hands under them and I had difficulty even getting my toothbrush wet.
To be fair, I was shown a room which had recently been redecorated (only to be told it was booked and I couldn't have it) so I know that not every room is like the one I had but if it were my Motel I would be embarrassed to give anyone the room I was given.
Overall, probably a safe bet for a short stay, given the price, but don't get your hopes up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oncebitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Have stayed regularly with husband who is a mountain bike nut. Motel is five minutes from world renowned tracks and central to the Mount/Tauranga, the National Park - we did the Tongariro Crossing and a road trip to Napier recently from here.

Motel is very dated but well serviced. The mineral pools are emptied and cleaned daily. It's the main reason we stay apart from the owners who are lovely people.

Great value for $.

Room Tip: My preference is for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Motel was quite clean, and linnens was also clean. They can make dust cleaning in toilet and better sink. kitchen floor was not nice, and kitchen wasnt inviting to make any food. Ok price to stay one or two nights. Nice couple who owned it. Very spaciours room anyway. They also have mineral pools, but I wouldnt go there!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiKooS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#59 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#58 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#44 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#81 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Motel

Property: Rob Roy Motel
Address: 291 Fenton Street | Rotorua Central, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rob Roy Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing