We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food”

BREW / Craft Beer Pub
Ranked #23 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: BREW | Craft Beer Pub in Rotorua, New Zealand, is run by Croucher Brewing - Rotorua's award-winning craft brewery. We have a great selection of NZ craft beers on-tap and in bottles, we exclusively stock New Zealand wines, and have delicious reasonably priced pub-style food. We are located in the middle of the Eat Street restaurant precinct. BREW was named Rotorua's OUTSTANDING BAR at the Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 and 2014.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
399 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If that is what you want , then this is a happy place with a good atmosphere well worth a visit, in the middle of Eat Street in the centre of town. Indoor out door eating and probably the best beer selection in town. We had steak which was great but have to say that the potato mash on which they sat was only lukewarm which was a pity but which didn't overly affect the evening.
As is usual in NZ asked for a rare steak and it came medium rare ..
Nice night though and would go again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    253
    73
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We only came for drinks (on two different nights), but we really liked the atmosphere of BREW. It had a nice selection of beers and seemed more of a low-key place. The bartender was also very friendly and chatted with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected better food because of the reviews on here”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went to the brew bar as it was recommended by people who live in Rotorua.
However 3 out of 5 of our party had the pork belly and were disappointed. The vegetables tasted of nothing and the sauce was salty. The brew burger and the scotch fillet however were more like we expected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great service and ambiance”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was my first time here and I was very impressed! Great food, friendly staff and a neat 'feel good' atmosphere. We will definitely be coming back here. They had a great 2 piece acoustic band playing who played well known soft rock music, was sad when they ended for the night. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farmersinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a bar without Brandy”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

aside from not having any Brandy behind the bar. we tried the local brew which the first was a pilsner which was cloudy with an odd metallic taste, so we swapped that for a light ale. this too tasted of aluminum. so we left the drinks untouched (never in my life have I ever done this, despite drinking some questionable quality brews) and went elsewhere

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW / Craft Beer Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to BREW / Craft Beer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing