We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but busy”

BREW / Craft Beer Pub
Ranked #23 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: BREW | Craft Beer Pub in Rotorua, New Zealand, is run by Croucher Brewing - Rotorua's award-winning craft brewery. We have a great selection of NZ craft beers on-tap and in bottles, we exclusively stock New Zealand wines, and have delicious reasonably priced pub-style food. We are located in the middle of the Eat Street restaurant precinct. BREW was named Rotorua's OUTSTANDING BAR at the Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 and 2014.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but busy”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Well to b fair all good places r busy, it is a sign of good food. We both ordered fish n chips, they were quite good, felt that the tatar sauce could have been better. Food was served till later than usual for lunch timing in rotorua - ate at 3pm and they served the lunch menu.. :) weldone!

Helpful?
Thank pramodhk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    253
    73
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Doesn't Like Solo Customers”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

It started with a great lunchtime session on a couple of dark ales with a steak sandwich.... all good, it was quiet. However I went back in the evening when it was busier and fancied some lighter ales.

There's a cheese board on the menu, for 2, sharing. Cheese and light ales are just the thing ! I asked for a cheese board for 1, I was refused it.

My custom is going elsewhere for the rest of my time here. A chef that can't cut half the amount of cheese required, or to busy to want a single person sitting on their own taking up a table for 4... you decide.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Iain H. Thanks for your comment. I was glad to read you thoroughly enjoyed your lunchtime session at BREW. I am sorry your evening visit didn't work out as you hoped. We actually love to host solo visitors. I see you have taken every opportunity (Facebook and Tripadvisor) to lambast us, which is a shame, just because you happened to choose the only item on the whole menu that is listed as for two people. As we would be unlikely to get a second person come in wanting a half portion of the cheese platter (you are the first to ask for it in three years) we would have no use for a left over half portion of cheese, similarly we wouldn't offer half a piece of steak. Some meals are scalable and some are less so. Once again, I am sorry you weren't happy with that part of your visit, and I genuinly hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Rotorua. Cheers, Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good beer, decent food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Staying in town overnight. Went in for a decent beer and stayed for the evening. Food choice OK, quality pretty good as well. Decent value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks OldGooner. Great to hear you enjoyed your evening with us, and thanks for taking the time to review us. Cheers, Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“packed to the rafters”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

been here a few times when visiting and its very popular, the beers are good and this time we were going to try the food but a 45 minute wait at least so we went elsewhere. Plenty of atmosphere and the food looked good so will try again next time we are around

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the review, NZBunny. Yes it has been packed to the rafters over summer. Our kitchen team are doing a sensational job, and at times keeping the wait times down is difficult. I appreciate your patience, and am glad to hear you have been enjoying the beers and the atmopsphere. Hopefully we will host you again soon. Cheers, Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beer”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great choice of beers, would recommend the taster where you get the chance to sample 4 beers. Good place to stop off before getting dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks Canarytraveller72. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW / Craft Beer Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to BREW / Craft Beer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing