We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food”

BREW / Craft Beer Pub
Ranked #22 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BREW | Craft Beer Pub in Rotorua, New Zealand, is run by Croucher Brewing - Rotorua's award-winning craft brewery. We have a great selection of NZ craft beers on-tap and in bottles, we exclusively stock New Zealand wines, and have delicious reasonably priced pub-style food. We are located in the middle of the Eat Street restaurant precinct. BREW was named Rotorua's OUTSTANDING BAR at the Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 and 2014.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

All four of us had a good experience at BREW. Food was well prepared and tasty. Staff were friendly and service pretty quick....so no complaints. Menu was a bit limited but that is to be expected at a pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    251
    70
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well, I had read a number of reviews and articles on this place so I sought it out just to try their meals. The service was slightly average but the the "Moo Loo" pizza and chrisp chunky chips that they served were very nice. On the second occasion when we ate here I was disappointed with both the waitress and the food. The "slow cooked pork" unfortunately was dry and the bar staff obviously don't attend to patrons who are just just dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Maggie,
While I am glad you enjoyed your first visit, I was really disappointed to read your comments about your second visit. Service is something we think we usually get right and are usually congratulated on. Your comments on your slow cooked pork have been passed on to the Head Chef. Don't give up on us, we are always working to improve the experience we offer to our guests, and I hope your next visit will be even better than your first one. Cheers, Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Brew Ha Ha”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You might know that a 'Brewhaha' is a fight. And if you drink the same craft beer that I did (unwittingly, honestly, to begin with!) - a 7.5 abv Croucher - then you'd better be on the careful side as you wander home!

We enjoyed our evening at the Brew Craft Beer Pub and thought that as well as the beer, the food was pretty good too - I had the souvlaki slow braised lamb shank following the pull apart pilsner loaf!

Ably served by Mark (a UK escapee) and his colleagues I can recommend a meal and a pint here based on our experience. Good 'pub' atmosphere too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for visiting us, Curtis. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the beers (even the strong ones) and the food. To counter the strong beer we also have a very hoppy and flavourful 2.7% IPA called Lowrider by Croucher Brewing. Really appreciate your comments about the service too. Thanks, and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and drinks and well priced”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The food was great, the place was very busy but the staff did a excellent job, also great prices for what you get. I would recomend this place to anyone

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Jolie. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of BREW Rotorua. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have a fabulous team at BREW, so I will pass on your comments as they always appreciate feedback. Cheers, Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadian friends loved the beer!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am a local who visited Brew with my friends from Canada, the food was fantastic with many options on the menu to cater for us all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bron202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback, Bron202. So great to hear you and your visiting friends enjoyed your time at BREW. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW / Craft Beer Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to BREW / Craft Beer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing