We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadian friends loved the beer!”

BREW / Craft Beer Pub
Ranked #22 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BREW | Craft Beer Pub in Rotorua, New Zealand, is run by Croucher Brewing - Rotorua's award-winning craft brewery. We have a great selection of NZ craft beers on-tap and in bottles, we exclusively stock New Zealand wines, and have delicious reasonably priced pub-style food. We are located in the middle of the Eat Street restaurant precinct. BREW was named Rotorua's OUTSTANDING BAR at the Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 and 2014.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadian friends loved the beer!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am a local who visited Brew with my friends from Canada, the food was fantastic with many options on the menu to cater for us all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bron202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BREWPubRotorua, Owner at BREW / Craft Beer Pub, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback, Bron202. So great to hear you and your visiting friends enjoyed your time at BREW. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    251
    70
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bulls, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were a rowdy and noisy group of 39, we ALL ordered entrees, mains and drinks to start with. The food arrived promptly, presented well and tasted yummo!! We then decided to stay and listen to the "open mic night" where we were again rowdy and overbearing (having fun). The staff were very accommodating and tolerating of us, they were friendly and humorous as were the locals that were sharing the space with us. The beer and wine was very nice as were the smiles on the bar staff's face when they served it. Thank you, will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just doesn't live up to the reputation”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Living in Rotorua, we hear a lot about BREW and how fantastic it is for food. Having been here in February and had cold food, I was prepared to put my average experience down to the fact that the place was really busy. However, after a second visit today, I was so disappointed I definitely won't go for food again.

A friend and I went for a drink, a chat, and to listen to the excellent live music. Feeling a bit peckish, and unable to choose, we ordered fries and wedges. Somehow, we expected these to be different... What came was two bowls of almost identical, skin on flat, half-cooked fries. The only difference was that one had been doused in cajun spice. Complaining to the grumpy, rude staff would just have spoiled an otherwise fun afternoon. But with so much choice on 'Eat Street', I won't be back.

Seriously disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glynn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great beer. Good food.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had dinner here on Sunday night. The meals were delicious - good flavours and well presented. Service was efficient and the croucher beer topped the meal off nicely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food in simple surroundings”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We dined here recently but (sadly) didn't sample any of their beer due to the need to keep driving. However, I can confirm that our meal were excellent: My souvlaki lambshank on mash was flavoursome and meaty, although it would have benefitted from a serving of fresh vegetables. My other half's sirloin and vegetables was reportedly also delicious. Although the dining area is a little work-cafeteria in style, it mattered little in light of the fine, reasonably meal and good service. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW / Craft Beer Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to BREW / Craft Beer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing