We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I want to start off by saying this is a beautiful lake resort, quaint and lovely view. Most importantly away from the sulphur smell. Great food and service at the restaurant! We spent 5 nights at this hotel only because the Duty Mgr., Alan took good care of us. He's a professional and he seemed liked the only one that really cared. Although the rooms are nice and clean, the walls are very thin and you can hear every creak and noise especially if you have a room above you. Duty Mgr.Alan was able to move us to a Suite situated at the end of the hotel only the last 2 nights because it was already booked. The Suite room was comfortable with great view but had 3 sleepless nights in their other downstairs room. Addressed our concerns w/ upper management(Acting General Mgr. & Hotel Mgr) and they didn't seem to really care or believe in providing excellent customer service. Quite frankly, they were the most disappointing part of our stay. In addition, the rooms are outdated especially the TVs and w-fi service is poor and never worked in our rooms. I would have given this resort at least a 4 star but not only does the rooms need updating, hotel management needs to be updated too! The only one that truly cared was the duty mgr. Alan and he is the only asset to this hotel as he is dedicated to providing excellent service! Kudos to you Mr. Alan and thank you for all your help!

Room Tip: The only room worth staying is their Suite room at the end of the hotel or an upstairs room with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hi502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A G, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for your valued input. In regard to your comments in respect of our managements lack of duty of duty care, you may recall our Acting General Manager did take the time to come see you on his day off to discuss your concerns.That as a consequence he advised our Duty Manager, Alan to allocate and upgrade your party to an one bedroom executive suite whilst honouring your discounted standard room rate. That the Acting General Manager did take the time to personaly assitt with your bags from your room to your car on your depature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    113
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
90
171
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel has great staff, they made the conference we were attending a great success. Free wifi was very handy. Breakfast was generous and dinner options were excellent. Very relaxing location.

This hotel has great staff, they made the conference we were attending a great success. Free wifi was very handy. Breakfast was generous and dinner options were excellent. Very relaxing location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an idyllic set up, views, food, welcome, friendly staff. Everything you could hope for in a getaway - except for the paper thin walls dividing the rooms. Everything else could not be faulted, quiet, not too far to get to all the attractions and things to do in Rotorua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel the weekend of the 13/14th of july.we had a lovely relaxing weekend.the resort is set in a beautifull setting.it was lovely to look out of our window and see the beautifull lake and swans.the hot tub was very relaxing.the rooms are very clean but dated and could do with updating.the good service,friendliness and lovely atmosphere more than makes up for it though and we will be back again.dizney the lovely Labrador made it feel like home too.the breakfast was really good value for money too.thanks for having us!!

Room Tip: lovely on second floor and views of the lake stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldy538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a suite here, warm welcome, clean but dated room, very cosy with one of the best bathrooms I have seen in a hotel, underfloor heating, heaps of towels, double rose shower which was massive, 2 toilets, one separate. High quality soap and bath products for the huge spa tub.
Dinner was great, lodge style ambience with a huge roaring fireplace, breakfast was the only letdown, overpriced and soggy buffet, but overall loved this place right on the lake and will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, it is divine! Great views of the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theblodne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely night here, and we're very happy overall, but there were a couple of things we were less than impressed with. When we arrived at 2pm we checked in and wanted a grab something cheap for a late lunch. We asked the guy at front desk if there were any local takeaways nearby and he said he didn't know but the hotel restaurant offered fish and chips (for $16 each!) and then we discovered a little takeaway shop literally right across the street! Then when we tried to go to the restaurant for dinner, we were told that without a reservation we would have to wait an hour and a half even though the place was half empty. Would've been nice to have been told that we would need to book even when we're staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurserowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed for the last night of Queens Birthday weekend. Have stayed before and was very impressed. Beds are very comfortable and service is great. Decided to have dinner at the hotel for the first time and ordered off the 'Snack Menu' - Fish and Chips in beer batter with salad for $16.00. A big mistake; the fish was rubbery and the batter was soft and chewy. Obviously precooked and reheated. Did not stay for breakfast. Sat by the fire after dinner and talked to some guests which had also eaten from the restaurant over the past few days and had the same experience. Such a shame for an amazing hotel. I will definitely stay again, but will not eat at the restaurant while they serve this standard of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you wish to open the doors and walk out to the lake edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
8.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Property: VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing