We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot and lovely facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and lovely facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in Feb after driving down from Auckland and looking at the sights in Rotorua. Got a room overlooking the lake with a lounge room. Beautiful views and friendly efficient staff. Did not dine there but drive into Rotorua instead because it isn't far. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    116
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
92
174
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checked in on 1st Feb after a particularly awful week of work and it was like walking in to paradise. From Check in I was greeted by Amri who gave us our room keys (we had booked a king & twin room) and gave us directions to our quarters.

Twin Room:
Room 207 was upstairs with a lovely view of the lake - it was very clean, tidy and comfortable.

King Room:
Room 113 was AMAZING - it was a beautiful king suit with huge bathroom / spa bath and shower separate to the toilet area. There was a walk in wardrobe with large mirror and great lighting and a separate lounge/kitchen area. We have a small table and chair set just outside our room and we could open all the ranch sliders (2x lounge & 1x bedroom) so that we had views right across the lake - it was MAGICAL. I would definately recommend that if this room is available you request it :)

Had a drink at the bar Friday night and the staff were very attentive and helpful. I asked for directions to a few local sights and was given a complimentary map from the reception desk.

Saturday I spent the morning out and about but came back in the afternoon for a dip in the pool and spa. Although it wasnt the deepest pool in the world it was very clean and had a separate shallow area for children. There were complimentary towels available in the changing rooms in the pool area and although I was a bit self conscious because the pool is next to the reception / bar area there was an external entrance which meant I could walk around the outside of the hotel instead of walking thru the middle of the public areas and not worry about leaving wet foot prints on the immaculately cleaned wooden floors.

Restaurant:
WOW - there was plenty to choose from and I selected the steak/chips and yorkshire pudding - the wait was a little long but that was because the restaurant/hotel was at full capacity on Saturday night but the meal was AMAZING. The steak was perfectly cooked, it was accompanied with delicious greenbeans and a mini salad, home made chunky style chips with aioli sauce and the most amazing yorkshire pudding.....it was so filling I couldnt make it to the next course!


BREAKFAST: yum breakfast was awesome - there was a range of small pastries (croissant/apple pie/pan au chocolate) as well as fruit (rockmelon/watermelon/plums/apricots) cereals (muesli/weetbixs/cornflates and rice bubbles) plus the hot food options (sausages/eggs/mushrooms/cooked tomatoes) and hot toast brought to your tables. There was a wide variety of spreads for the toast and the staff were really attentive about topping up toast and refilling the bay maries with hot food items. There was several varieties of juice and the best coffee ever!!! Cannot emphasize enough how good the breakfast was. My partner is a big eater and polished off quite a bit of food in the mornings and they just smiled and kept clearing away his dishes so he could start with a fresh plate.
House keeping:
Very polite and helpful. I didnt realise when I first arrived that there were complimentary towels in the pool room so I took out my lovely room towels and the cleaning staff who spotted me took the initiative and went to my room to leave me a fresh set of towels :)

I have stayed at plenty of resorts in my time but never have I seen staff so friendly and genuinely interested. I would highly recommend this resort to everyone especially families.

The resort is very quiet and suitable for families or people who just want to relax/get out on the water.

There is a trampoline / swing set for kids and a gorgeous canine resident named Disney.

Ive read the other reviews before I went to Amora and although it is an older resort and could probably do with a lick of paint or water blast the service was sterling.

Amora is only 15 min drive from Central Rotorua.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a King Suit - room 113 is awesome and did not cost any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasmyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent 2 days here as a short break away with my husband. We stayed in a suite that was beautiful but the rooms really need to have air conditioning as during our stay it was so hot we had to keep our door open to let a breeze in. The hotel is beautiful to look at but really needs to be repainted. The entrance way arches and our bedroom balcony were spoilt by the heavily flaking paint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omokoroa NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

1st came here 26 years ago on my honeymoon, and returned yesterday for a work conference. The Amora has a wonderful setting with the ground floor floor bedrooms opening out onto Lake Rotoiti - a beautiful relaxing view to wake up to. Excellent friendly service by all the staff. We were treated to a lovely lunch - NZ lamb, and a wonderful deep dish apple pie. We borrowed kayaks (lifejackets provided) and had fun in the lake and then warmed up again in the pool and spa pool. There is a tennis court and paddle boats available for use. You can charter a boat and try your hand at trout fishing or bring your own boat to launch of their pier. Or if you prefer walking there are some lovely walks along the lake edge. The bedrooms are neutral in colour and were clean - with the best feature being a lovely deep bath and a free standing shower. However this is not 4 or 5 star luxury I feel a little attention to the exterior paintwork wouldn't go astray also the bedrooms are not air conditioned (the fan that was provided didn't cut the heat & was noisy) ! I personally feel the bedrooms they need a bit of a make over - flat screen TV, new beds, duvet and decent pillows wouldn't go astray. But overall this is a reasonable place to come for a couple of days to unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor fronting the lake room for the best views and quick access to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi on tour
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having passed this Hotel/Resort on numerous occassions over the past 30 years or so and at least 4 or 5 name/hotel chain changes , finally I have spent a night here. The location whilst along way out from Rotorua and all the attractions that are within walking distance of the CBD, the Amora appeals in other ways, waking up and pulling back the curtains to reveal the dawn sunlight shimmering across Lake Rotoiti, superb. Having stayed on a weeknight in the main building of the resort , perhaps the reason for the tranquil and unhurried atmosphere of the place. After reading several other reviews , a bit of duck poo here and there isn't uncommon
on Lake Fronts in Rotorua. The facilities whilst having aged gracefully , the rooms are kept clean and in keeping with the style of this resort. A little bit of updating - yes , I haven't watched a Tube TV in many a year. We ate at the Resort Restaurant and whilst on the upside price wise , the food was very good. Overall pleasant experience and would probably return should the need arise.

Room Tip: The main building set back well away from main highway , lakeside rooms in this building advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed with my partner for 2nights and it was a really peaceful and nice getaway for the weekend. There is a beautiful courtyard and open space which is right outside the room. The view from inside is gorgeous, and it makes for a nice scenic walk anytime of the day. You can also go boating on the lake.

The room is pretty spacious and clean, and the beds are rather comfortable. The bathtub makes for a relaxing evening. There is a nice dining table with chairs for us to dine in. However, we didnt really like the placing of the tv as it is hanging. Also, the internet was really slow.

Service was good as our fridge was not working and they were rather efficient in replacing it with another one. Funnily, the other unit was a different one and could not fit into the cabinet, so we had to leave it on the floor. But aside from that, the overall experience was pretty good.

Location wise, it is rather far from the town centre itself around 20mins drive. But the isolated area makes for a serene holiday and still relatively close to the tourist spots. Hells Gate, the popular mud spa spot is not too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The setting is nice, staff are quite good. But.....
1. It feels, looks, smells old
2. The beds sink, need i say more
3. No duvet here, just plain old blankets and one sheet between you and the old mattress
4. Gym is just a small room
5. No lcd tv
6. Pubic hair in bathtub from god knows when

But the price is reasonable, and it is quiet......until the neighbours

Despite the above, it is still better than Rydges Hotel, Sudima Hotel, Distinction Hotel, Novotel

No decent hotel in Rotorua, unless you want to pay $thousands for upmarket lodges

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
5.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Property: VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing