We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways
Ranked #3 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Tunisian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved the great food here, very authentic Tunisian style although they can accommodate local taste according to the chef. The owners were wonderful talking about the history and music of Tunisia and made us feel so welcome. I will definitely visit this place again on my travels back to Aoteoroa!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    66
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap & Tasty”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

There was no frills, but the food was quickly prepared and full of flavour. Both of us had pasta and were more than satisfied. Good sign was a lot of locals eating there.

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great cheap eat packed with flavour! great staff, more than happy to cater to my sons nut allergy. Recommend as best place to eat in Rotorua, forget the expensive sit down places closer to the water

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mittens7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our second visit this year. Try the Sahara Pizza!

All the way to NZ from Australia for a pizza? Oh yeah! NZ$15.00 and worth every slice! We called in before we flew out of Rotorua Airport. Only 10 mins away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza within a 100km radius”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I always stop here for pizza and I live 100km away. Best pizza I've had in my life. Highly recommend the Sahara pizza. Great friendly service. Excellent international flavors. Fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Globaltraveller187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing