We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Japanese Resto in Rotorua”

Yamato Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese Resto in Rotorua”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good menu! Quality food at reasonable price. We had different kinds of salads and tempura. Main meal was nicely presented and actually taste nice too!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank livinlyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    18
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

A great little Japanese restaurant in the middle of Rotorua. We chose to sit at the bar (yakitori bar style) and enjoyed watching the staff prepare the biggest sushi rolls I have ever eaten, Along with a number of other impressive looking sashimi dishes for other guests while we enjoyed the unagi and tempura with some great plum wine! Worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yacht_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Food was great, service was little slow due to the large group in the other room. Some customers were turned as they were too busy

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank nkeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Japanse food i ever had”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Real and tastly japanese food!
Lots of differents fresh, made on demand sushis and other japanese dishes!

  • Visited April 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazymodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“5 Star Japanese Cuisine - best in New Zealand!”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at Yamato twice last weekend. The food is authentic Japanese and the sashimi (fish) and sushi is the freshest and tastiest I have enjoyed in years. Pull up a stool and watch the master chef create the sushi and sashimi infront of your eyes!

GREAT value and outstanding quality. Go to Yamato now :)

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing