We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Superb support and improvisation from Jane and Tak

For many years and many reasons we had avoided going on holidays with our two special needs boys... read more

Reviewed March 10, 2019
niallrmurphy
Gracious and attentive

We approached Tour Zealand with less than a months notice to put together a two day trip around the... read more

Reviewed January 5, 2019
tonydT9649EZ
via mobile
Read all 56 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rotorua
from $21.59
More Info
from $78.38
More Info
from $43.17
More Info
from $169.37
More Info
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
55
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
55
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waitomo caves new zealand auckland itinerary cruise sites geyser
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

We approached Tour Zealand with less than a months notice to put together a two day trip around the Waitomo caves, with a pick up in Auckland due to our connecting international flights.

Jane was knowledgeable and informative and genuinely wanted us to experience the New Zealand hospitality. The transportation for the two of us was a large Mercedes van which was very comfortable for touring, and well stocked with drinks, snacks, and local information that supplemented the treasure trove of information Jane provided us.

Based on our input, and us changing our minds, we ended up with an itinerary that was perfect for our time together. The restaurants she recommended were excellent (in our case we asked for those favoured by locals).

We are planning on using Tour Zealand for our next trip, to either Rotorua or a longer South Island trip.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank tonydT9649EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

The best decision I made when planning our first trip to New Zealand was booking a custom travel plan with Tour Zealand !!!
Jane is absolutely the best tour guide we have ever met and she was the key to making our first trip to New Zealand one of our best trips!

Starting from our exchange of emails with her, I sensed that she was organized, professional and extremely informative. She never pushed us a certain direction but instead asked about our personal preferences and what we wanted to get out of our trip.

After various emails, we decided to have her plan two days in Rotorua for the four of us. This guided trip turned out to be the highlight of our two week travel in Australia and New Zealand.

When she picked us up at our hotel in Auckland, I knew right away that she was a gold star! ⭐️ she had basket of water and snacks and magazines waiting for us in her comfortable Mercedes van. That attention to detail was evidenced during the next two days of our tour of Rotorua.

From the sheep farm visit to the mountain biking , the booking at a charming boutique hotel in Rotorua, to the private guided fishing trip , Jane made sure that every t was crossed and every i was dotted. When she drove us back to Auckland I asked if we could stop by a store so that I could buy some New Zealand cheese that I wanted to enjoy with wine that night with my family. So Jane took us to a store and walked in with me to show me which ones were the good ones. Oh, she also gave us a bottle of New Zealand wine!

Upon arriving at our Auckland apartment, Jane walked us into our apartment to deliver the trout that her son had smoked for us from our successful fishing trip! Her generosity did not stop there. She then presented all of us with special gifts from New Zealand.

We cannot say enough about Jane and her tour company. She truly made our trip one for the books and we are excited to plan more future trips with her as she has so many connections and travel experiences.

Make sure to book a trip with Jane from Tour Zealand. It will be the best decision you make when touring New Zealand. You will get a red carpet treatment that is truly epic!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank epictrips00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourZealand, Owner at Tour Zealand Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2018

It was pleasure to host your lovely family in our paradise. Yes we surely had fun, mountain biking in the Whakarewarewa forest and trout fishing on Lake Tarawera, visiting the Valais sheep breeding unit and so much more. I look forward to seeing you all again for longer next time, although we did squeeze a lot into 2 days! Thank you for choosing to share your Kiwi experience with Tour Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We are so happy we found Tour Zealand! Jane was able to put together a custom tour for us. We wanted a one way trip from Auckland to Rotorua with sites in between and the trip she created was just perfect for us. The tour picked us up in Auckland and took us through the beautiful country side to the Waitomo Caves. Jane suggested we tour the Ruakuri cave which was amazing. We had a delicious lunch in a quaint town along the way, and she delivered us to Rotorua. Jane made excellent accommodation and restaurant recommendations and helped us plan our time in Rotorua. She connected us with a tour of the geothermal areas, Polynesian Spa, and told us which restaurants to try on Eat Street. She also recommended a helicopter tour of the area, which was absolutely amazing (a must do)! Jane was so personable and we loved her. It was fantastic to have a New Zealander guiding us through such a beautiful area. We learned a lot about farming, honey production, dairy - you name it! We highly recommend Tour Zealand if you want a custom tour. They will not disappoint!

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank rockymtnlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent half day with Lilia she showed us around auckland key places and in most efficient way. Along the way she gave us details about NZ and Auckland

We finally got dropped to airport, best way to cover Auckland in half a day

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DPPP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Tour Zealand - Lilia was exactly what we were looking for and so happy we had this opportunity! Lilia was wonderful to communicate and make arrangements with, prior to our trip to New Zealand. We made arrangements for an airport pickup and tour of Auckland, as we had a very early flight arrival and we were leaving Auckland on a cruise later afternoon. Lilia was prompt and very accommodating! We were able to see and Auckland, as Lilia knew the city well. We enjoyed coffee and delicious treats at a wonderful little cafe, which included the unusual opportunity of seeing a house being moved via water. Not something we see every day. Lilia even made a stop at a grocery store for last minute supplies we needed for our cruise.
Thank You Lilia for a comfortable, entertaining tour, it set the tone for our wonderful 20 day vacation!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank maryjnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews