We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Fish and Chips”

Oppie's Fish & Chips
Ranked #36 of 220 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand Herald ranks Oppie's #4 Fish and Chips place in New Zealand. I don't know who the other 3 are but Oppies is the best i've had and their chinese takeaway is great too. good prices, generous portions.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chose this place to eat because it had won a business award in 2011. They were efficient in taking orders and were very prompt with delivery. Food tasted great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    142
    72
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large range of food choices and close to motel stayers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very busy place and great food choice range. As they were busy it did take 25 min to get food but as I said they were very busy. They offer fish and chips, Chinese, toasted sandwiches to steak, chips and salad and a lot more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Acr2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Onolicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

You get a choice of fresh fish for your fish 'n chips. We chose blue cod which was the right choice as it was moist and flavorful. To accompany the fish we got kumara fries along with regular fries. It was by far the best f&c we have ever had. The only catch is that they don't offer malt vinegar and you have to buy tartar sauce and ketchup to accompany your f&c. We also got an order of scallops which were marvelous. It was amusing how they do a pretty brisk business selling Chinese food along side the f&c. Everything is takeaway but it makes for a convenient meal in your motel room or at one of the many nearby parks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good fish n chips and takeaways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the motel next door and it was on New Year's day so not many places were open and we were too tired to go look for food. So we opted to have takeaways from the takeaway place next door.

When we went to have a look at the menu, it was full to the brim with huge queues and waiting people. However, the friendly Asian girl at the counter said that they were happy to deliver our order which was a relief and the order was delivered within twenty minutes.

The fish and chips were great and the food was average. Portions were a lot bigger than in Auckland for the same prices. The Singapore rice noodles were great but the sweet and sour pork was below average. The rest of the food we ordered were OK. They did have heaps of choices to order from.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you don't mind waiting in line ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the restaurant a couple of times, once for fish & chips, the other time for regular chinese food. In the afternoon, the restaurant was not busy. We got our fish & chips in a big paper wrap in 10 min or so. When we picked up Chinese food in the evening, there were many people waiting for their fish & chips. The restaurant does not have tables inside, only chairs, and all of them were taken by people waiting for their f&c. Outside, there were two tables, and taken by people already had their f&c. We had our pretty reasonably priced Chinese food takeaways.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppie's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Oppie's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing