We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome but take a map!”

Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Half-Day Self-Guided Mountain Bike Journey through Whakarewarewa Redwood Forest
More Info
$102.66*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Kiwi Fruit Orchard...
More Info
$26.61*
and up
Whakarewarewa, The Living Maori Village Guided Tour with Optional Hangi Meal
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If you love the outdoors this area is for you! Escape into the beautiful Whakarewarewa Forest, one of Rotorua’s most spectacular natural assets. Famous for its magnificent stands of towering Californian Coastal Redwoods it is just five minutes drive from the city centre. Here you can experience some of the finest walking and mountain bike trails in the world. Not to mention taking in superb panoramic views of Rotorua City, Lake and surrounding district. Entry to the forest, tracks and Gift Shop & Visitor Centre is FREE. There is lots of parking and toilet facilities available. Gates open at 5.30am and close late. Maps and information is available at the Redwoods I-Site and Visitor Centre. Don't forget to also check out the Redwoods Treewalk. This is available at the Redwoods and provides an alternative way to experience the Redwoods both during the day and at night. It is a paid attraction see their listing for more details.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome but take a map!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Took the family for our first adventure biking in the forest. We thought it would be well sign posted but spent a lot of time lost trying to get out. Day 2 saw us start with a visit to the lovely people at the info centre and then armed with a map, gave the biking another go and had a much more successful time. Had a lot of fun and would go back. Also did a walk through the redwoods on the other side by the info office. What an amazing area. Walking, cycling and horse riding Awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,292
    819
    120
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful forest trek experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Take a trek inside a beautiful redwood forest with 100 year old trees to behold. We traveled with our young son and, having tracks that give you a view of distance and difficulty while still giving you a good experience of the forest, we were able to choose which path to best take given our group and time and weather constraints. A very tranquil place and perfect for hikes and a different experience of the North Island. Pack water and a trail mix though if you intend to stay for a few hours.

Finding the place was easy but we were lucky to have friends drive us around.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RicelSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a magical place”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

One of the very few free things to do in Rotorua. This place is awesome. There are dozens of tracks to suit you forest needs. Whether it is a short easy half hour or one hour stroll with the kids on wide easy to walk (with push chairs) pathways, or graduating walks up to 2-3 hours, an 8 hour tramp, horse trails, mountain bike trails or motorcross trails. It has it all. A must do for anyone with a drop of outdoors in their blood.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_A1exander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Living in New Zealand it is just natural that I have been to Rotorua many times. Was there in August 2012 with my wife for three days on a quick holiday. We heard from someone we had talked to on the first day about the big redwoods just out of town. As one who is interested in nature of all kinds this sounded like a good way to spend a morning walking through the bus. Driving down the road to get there I was stunned that I had never seen or heard of this place before. The parking was excellent and well signed posted how to get to the walks. There were several you could do and all had a different colour coded sign, very easy to follow. My wife and I took the 1 and a 1/2 hour choice. They ranged from 1 hour to 8 hours. The paths were in excellent shape and I took many pictures of these majestic trees. The experience was mind blowing and the lady in the information center at the end was exceptional at her job. Very friendly and talkative and well informed. I would recommend this to anyone, the paths are not difficult at all. Exceptional value for money cause its FREE!!!! Yes it is one of the many attractions around Rotorua that is free. I will be returning with my kids and I think every time we come down this way we will pay it a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Redwood Forest Walk and Cycle Paths”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a large forest of mature redwood trees just on the outskirts of Rotorua. Drive to the forest headquarters and take some time to understand the different walking and cyling options available. The staff in the Information Centre are very helpful and have good maps and information to help you navigate the range of paths and cycle tracks. There are options availbale from short easy walks to long challenging hikes. The coffee and food at La Bonne bakery just down the road are excellent and a great pick-me -up when you have finished.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kokako99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing