We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It ya backyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rotorua Duck Tours

Rotorua Duck Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.80*
and up
Rotorua Duck Tours - City and Lakes Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb aboard our authentic World War II Amphibious landing crafts and see Rotorua by land and lake. Our tours are a great introduction to Rotorua, its history, its people and the magnificent lakes region. View spectacular scenery. Tours depart up to 3 times daily. Join our 90min Rotorua City & Lakes Tour or 120 Min Tarawera & Lakes Tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It ya backyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Living in Rotorua, have never done the duck tour, hubby being from the UK, we decided to give it a go, had a fantastic time, saw some sights I'd never seen before even though I have lived here 10 years lol....learnt new info about our city, and our drive/tour guide Johnny was funny and kept us entertain which is always a big bonus

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    105
    16
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We departed from Rotorua museum on the "Duck" complete with our duck whistles! Our guide was informative & had a great sense of humour and you get the feeling he really enjoys his job. The day was awesome, really great weather, amazing scenery and a rare opportunity to "ride in" a machine from NZ's bygone era.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bus & Boat Best of both!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was fun for all ages. Grant our Tour guide made this very interesting with duck whistles for everyone so we could entertain the people in the streets. The views of the city and lakes were fantastic and the commentary by Grant was interesting and included alot of jokes and historical stories of the area. This is a must do for Rotorua as the fun we had encouraged us to keep sight seeing the rest of the day. thanks to Grant the kids had a ball as well. Our son managed to get his hands wet when the duck hit to sped in the water. Well worth the money!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

the tour driver was so entertaining,full of jokes and fun!The lakes were beautiful and his anecdotes about their inhabitents were fascinating.Well worth the money.Fabulous!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon out on the Duck, the lady I rang to book with was very helpful.
Our guide, Grant, was great, barely stopped talking, and 99% of it was fascinating information, the rest was fun jokes, and very good tunes with the duck whistle!
I'd happily recommend doing this, especially if you are here without transport as you get to see things out of the main city.

Helpful?
Thank Speckleyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Duck Tours also viewed

 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 

Been to Rotorua Duck Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing