We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rotorua must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rotorua Duck Tours

Rotorua Duck Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.80*
and up
Rotorua Duck Tours - City and Lakes Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb aboard our authentic World War II Amphibious landing crafts and see Rotorua by land and lake. Our tours are a great introduction to Rotorua, its history, its people and the magnificent lakes region. View spectacular scenery. Tours depart up to 3 times daily. Join our 90min Rotorua City & Lakes Tour or 120 Min Tarawera & Lakes Tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Rotorua must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We took a large group of visiting family (and they were mostly kiwis!) - and everyone was thoroughly impressed. Our driver, Grant, was so knowledgable and really funny and personable. The stuff that you get to see when youre on the duck (and the little stories the drivers share with you as a bit of an education) cant be obtained in any other tourist attraction in the area... its simply brilliant. the vehicle itself is a real novelty, and a hit with kids and history buffs / automotive buffs alike! Theres no way you would ever want your money back; its such a quality attraction run by dedicated and charming individuals. Im now a local in Rotorua and will happily go again in a few months time just for the thrill it brought to my son! and when my family comes from overseas, its a sure-bet attraction I will show them!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    105
    16
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do when in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a neat way to do some sightseeing, on the roads and in the water.
Grant the driver made the outing more special with his knowledge, comments and quiz.. We certainly got our money's worth and the whole family enjoyed the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toddhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We didn't have long in Rotorua and decided to do the duck tour so we could see round the place in a short time. It was a good decision and all enjoyed it, even the 2 year old who eventually managed to get a sound out of the duck 'quacker' that we were encouraged to sound to people walking about.

The driver was great fun and very knowledgeable and kept us all entertained. I enjoyed getting out of the vehicle and having a wander about and a paddle for a while. A very worthwhile tour in Rotorua.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roberta_uk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth sailing around the world for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My day in Rotorua came four months into a round the world sailing adventure. Arriving by bus in Rotorua the choice of a WW2 Duck to see the sights was a cross between the road transport I had just used and the racing yacht that had transported me from the UK. It proved to be an ideal tour and I recommend it for anyone with too little time to spare. The driver took us from the town to lakes nearby, with commentary and laughs. The essential quacker for the tour proved even more useful when I got home - "Mother Goose" was the panto for Christmas 2012 - the quacker will star in every performance! The tour is highly recommended - thanks to Rotorua Duck tours.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 hour trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our guide / driver was great fun as well as entertaining. We happened by this and thought it would be a fun 2 hours and were not disappointed. A great inexpensive afternoon that is fun and safe for all, but with a bit of a difference. Recommend this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Duck Tours also viewed

 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 

Been to Rotorua Duck Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing