We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We loved staying here and can't recommend it highly enough. Christine was so welcoming and we felt like we had known her for years. We loved meeting her four donkeys and feeding them each day and wandering around her lovely gardens. She definitely went that extra mile and we were very sorry to leave. We were very grateful to her for letting us stay an extra night due to bad weather. We felt that being a few k out of Rotorua was a positive advantage.The house is beautiful and the room very comfortably furnished. Sittting outside looking at the stars was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iroadlesstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had a wonderful two-night stay with Christine. She is a fantastic hostess and made us feel at home straight away, sitting in the garden with afternoon tea, having a chat, whilst looking at the most wonderful views of Rotorua. The house and grounds are amazing and Christine was more than happy to let us wander around, admire her extensive gardens and even feed the donkeys . She gave us suggestions of what to see on our shortish stay and was spot-on. She also told us where to visit en route to our next stop, drawing maps - and even gave us a plan of the night sky, so that we could identify the stars in the southern hemisphere! Thank you Christine - you're an amazing lady.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

It's the second time I passed my holidays at Doolan's country retreat. As soon as you enter the place you feel comfortably at home. Christine's a great hostess and during the christmas time her house was beautiful decorated and her christmas cakes were delicious. We had a familiar new year and I never missed my family or my friends. I got a new family. I 'm sure I'm coming back to this wonderful place and my friend Christine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissgolflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife Linda and I were on a one month tour of New Zealand and having a wonderful time. Doolan's did not disappoint us. Set in the countryside but convenient by car to Rotarua Doolan's is idylic. We were there in the spring and the flowers were just amazing. Our room was comfortable and our hostess's hospitality was outstanding. Feeding carrots to Milo and Otis was a lot of fun for my wife. All the furnishings and personal attention at Doolan's is of first quality and we would recommend this lovely B&B to anyone wanting a quite pastoral setting to slow the pace a bit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_J31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Christine made us feel at home straight away and did not mind that we wished to stay in one night and bring back some snacks . Her home is in a beautiful setting and her garden[ 10 acres] is wonderful. We were the only guests at the time but whilst we were there we had undisturbed sleep in beautiful , comfortable beds,. The rooms are all of a good size with nice views onto the gardens. Only miniscule criticism [ true of a number of b&bs ] it would be lovely to have some decent bread for breakfast rather than white sliced. We would definitely stay there again. Thank you Christine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbignell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Christine Doolan is gracious and hosts a very secluded, comfortable and cozy bed and breakfast. Dining was delicious, garden tour incredible, and location perfect with only 30 minutes from town.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zelda49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We were truly overwhelmed when we arrived at Doolan's. The location of the B&B is stunning and it was not a problem for us to be based a little bit outside of the centre of Rotorua. For a start you avoid the smell of Rotorua and secondly it is such a stunning location. The work that Christine puts into the grounds of the property is just incredible - she works so hard at making this a beautiful spot. Christine is a great hostess - very laid back and expects you to make yourself at home. I loved feeding the donkeys as well as the white doves in the morning - in between eating a fabulous breakfast each morning. The room was very comfortable and luxurious and the rest of the house is extremely comfortable. Christine also gave us great tips as to what to do with our limited time in Rotorua and on our onward journey - this made it possible for us to do a lot with the time we had. We would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing