We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doolan's Country Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$200
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
295
15
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricky martinb bshania twainnew zealandsurrounded by beautiful gardensbed and breakfastplaces to visitlake rotoruaother guestshomemade jamsbreakfast was deliciousstayed longerwealth of knowledgepleasure of stayingbeautiful place to stayan easy drivecommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 314 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife Linda and I were on a one month tour of New Zealand and having a wonderful time. Doolan's did not disappoint us. Set in the countryside but convenient by car to Rotarua Doolan's is idylic. We were there in the spring and the flowers were just amazing. Our room was comfortable and our hostess's hospitality was outstanding. Feeding carrots to Milo and Otis was a lot of fun for my wife. All the furnishings and personal attention at Doolan's is of first quality and we would recommend this lovely B&B to anyone wanting a quite pastoral setting to slow the pace a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_J31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Christine made us feel at home straight away and did not mind that we wished to stay in one night and bring back some snacks . Her home is in a beautiful setting and her garden[ 10 acres] is wonderful. We were the only guests at the time but whilst we were there we had undisturbed sleep in beautiful , comfortable beds,. The rooms are all of a good size with nice views onto the gardens. Only miniscule criticism [ true of a number of b&bs ] it would be lovely to have some decent bread for breakfast rather than white sliced. We would definitely stay there again. Thank you Christine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbignell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Christine Doolan is gracious and hosts a very secluded, comfortable and cozy bed and breakfast. Dining was delicious, garden tour incredible, and location perfect with only 30 minutes from town.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
Thank Zelda49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We were truly overwhelmed when we arrived at Doolan's. The location of the B&B is stunning and it was not a problem for us to be based a little bit outside of the centre of Rotorua. For a start you avoid the smell of Rotorua and secondly it is such a stunning location. The work that Christine puts into the grounds of the property is just incredible - she works so hard at making this a beautiful spot. Christine is a great hostess - very laid back and expects you to make yourself at home. I loved feeding the donkeys as well as the white doves in the morning - in between eating a fabulous breakfast each morning. The room was very comfortable and luxurious and the rest of the house is extremely comfortable. Christine also gave us great tips as to what to do with our limited time in Rotorua and on our onward journey - this made it possible for us to do a lot with the time we had. We would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The innkeeper, Christine, is amazing. Even if this place was a run-down dump, I would give it 5 stars because of the innkeeper alone...And this place is anything but a dump. The house is beautiful and the room very comfortable. Christine makes a mean breakfast, too.

One note on location: If you are looking to be in the center of town, this is not the place to stay. The place is very isolated and quiet, which was exactly what my wife and I were looking for. It is about a 10 minute drive to rotorua, so you aren't exactly out in the boon docks, but you get the feeling of being way in the country.

I highly recommend getting to know Christine's donkeys while you are there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enlil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews