We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home, fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hertford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real home from home, fab”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent 2 days here. The room was clean and comfortable and Christine really welcoming, helpful and knowledgable about the area. She made some good suggestions about trips etc and helped with a booking. The views were lovely. She shares her home with her guests and was really generous with her time, coming to feed the donkeys with us, talking about the stars, etc. We really enjoyed our time there and her great hospitality.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

.......that hasn't already been said! Christine is what Doolans Country Retreat is all about. She is a great ambassador for Rotorua and we did things I thought we would never do, like the Rotorua Canopy Tour. She is such an easy person to talk and laugh with and when you leave, you take special thoughts of her with you. Enough said, she'll read this! Doolan's Country Retreat is everything you would want in a well run B&B. It is homely, beautifully decorated with Christines flare and attention to detail. We were there on Christmas morning and awoke to a beautifully decorated Christmas table and hearty breakfast. There were four couples and Christine and we had a great start to Christmas Day. Anyone who stays at Doolan's will never be disappointed, it is absolutely beautiful inside and out, and is situated down a country lane that speaks New Zealand, New Zealand, New Zealand. Well done, Christine!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianneharris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We cannot say enough about Christine and her awesome home (er, B&B!) She makes everyone feel welcome. The grounds, donkeys, house and views are spectacular! She works very hard to maintain the house and gardens, provide outstanding and hearty breakfasts, and makes reservations if needed, She is a wealth of knowledge about things to do and about the area. I told her I was coming back and never leaving, hahaha!!! Both my husband and I loved this place and Christine!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Selected Doolan's based on the overwhelming consensus of reviews and could not have been more pleased. Spent one evening this past December with Christine as we made our way down from Auckland to the Hawke's Bay region. Only regret was that it was only one evening. The location is ideal, 10-15 minutes north of Rotorua and there was no odor you get while in the city. The winding drive once you arrive can seem a bit treacherous but once you get up by the house it is all worthwhile. The B & B sits on top of the property with lovely views in all directions. Christine is a most welcoming and gracious hosts-we'd arrived late so she directed us to where we could get some fish & chips take-aways (take-outs for the Yanks)-we brought the food back & invited Christine to join us. She did not hesitate and in no time we felt like we'd known Christine for many years rather than just maybe an hour. Our room was perfect for a couple-not very large but clean. comfy, & quiet plus we had our own bathroom. We were up early the next morning to walk the wonderfully landscaped grounds - wish we had more time to sit and relax & take it all in but it was very nice morning. Christine asked if we wanted to feed her three donkeys & we were all over that plus we had the birds coming right up to her patio doors for their morning feeding. The breakfast was delightful, especially being able to eat with doors swung wide open to enjoy the fabulous surroundings. We had the good fortune to share breakfast with a very nice couple from England. I always consider this morning type inter-action between guests an expected benefit of staying at a B & B so we were not disappointed. All told we may have been with Christine a bit over 12 hours but it was such a quality experience - Hard to believe Christine does virtually all of this alone but you can see that she pours her heart & soul into her place and it shows. She helped steer us to some of the local attractions which also was helpful. Doolan's & Christine will forever be a highlight part of our second visit to New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed two nights with Christine which were really too short, especially since we spent quite a bit of time at nearby Rotorua attractions. 3 nights are recommended instead. Christine was a fantastic host, and made us feel very much at home. She was very welcoming to our 4-year old boy too. Because it was the two of us adults plus my boy, Christine also upgraded us to a bigger available room at no extra charge which was really generous of her. We were also very impressed with Christine being able to tend to the entire house with a huge garden single-handedly, on top of the entire B&B set up. Oh and Christine whips out pretty tasty and wholesome breakfasts too! The house and compound were just fantastic - nicely manicured garden, the 3 donkeys that Christine have, the occasional wild rabbits that run through, etc.

Location wise, this B&B cannot be beat. it is less than 10 mins drive away from attractions such as Rainbow Springs, Mitai cultural show, Skyline, Agrodome, Agroventures, etc. So the quiet exclusiveness of a B&B, but great and exciting fun just moments away.

we will definitely come back here when we have the chance to visit Rotorua again next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezgoing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two glorious nights with Christine who is the perfect and knowledgeable owner. From the moment we arrived it felt like we were old friends staying in her home. Fabulous cooked breakfasts (different each day) and even a lovely supper provided on our second night with a great bottle of wine when we were too tired to go out. We watched the sunset and then listened to Christine teaching us about the stars seen so clearly in the perfect night sky. We fed her donkeys and watched quails running across the lawns. Breakfast was fun with the other guests. Thanks for a memorable stay. Peggy and Alison

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stumbled across one of Rotorua and NZ's best B&B's with a fantastic host in Christine. beautiful sumptuous breakfast and great company made the 1 night stay memorable. Bothe my wife and I highly recommend you spend a night or two soaking up the beautiful views and strolling through the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
379 reviews
4.7 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing