We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply great”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. The house is situated on a quiet spot away from the crowds of Rotorua with beautiful views over Lake Rotorua and the surrounding landscape. Our room was immaculate, the garden beautiful and breakfast delicious.
Christine's warm welcome made us feel at home immediately, we really felt welcome and special. She was very helpful and even picked out the best route to our next destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I cannot recommend Doolan's strongly enough. Everything about the place is special - the location, the host Christine, the food, the gardens, and yes, the donkeys!

Christine the host is really an amazing host and a beautiful, special person. Great company, and exceptional service! She had a couple of friends over (who were also all amazing, interesting people) and it was great to have the option of interacting with them and socialising. However the property is large enough to have lots of private space if that is what you prefer.

The room was great and the beds super-comfy. Bathroom was adequate and toiletries were all top-notch. It is hard to believe that Christine manages this place by herself as it is such a large property, yet impeccably kept.

One of the highlights was breakfast. We stayed 3 days and it was different every day, though always cooked and usually more than one course! Christine is a fabulous cook! And apart from that we were also offered homebaked cookies and cakes for afternoon tea - truly beyond the call of duty.

Thanks again Christine for a lovely stay, and for being the way you are! My dad and I have very fond memories of you and of our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaseebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We did not stay over, but rather ate dinner only as an optional excursion to a package tour. From the moment Christine picked us up, we felt at home. Her facility is superbly located with a view overlooking Lake Rotorua. She prepared a great home cooked meal and joined us for dinner and conversation. The event was listed as 'dinner with a NZ family' and certainly met our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler-Sej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a great time staying in this spacious relaxing B and B close to Roturua. Christine made us feel so welcome and was so helpful with advice of where to go and what to do. She also served us great breakfasts as well as being the sole gardener of her magnificent grounds. Can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at this B&B in October 2012. Even before we arrived, Christine was very helpful in setting us up for a hangi at Mitai Village (I had trouble deciding between Mitai or Tamaki, but with Mitai being only 5min away and having won awards for their dancing, it became a no brainer). When we arrived, we were the only guests for the night, so Christine offered for us to move into the larger room, since we had some large luggage with us. Christine is a very lovely host and lovely to talk to. The views from the property are also spectacular and my husband was so relaxed that we actually enjoyed the afternoon sitting on the back patio, sipping tea, enjoying cookies and talking to Christine and her friend. Although the B&B is in Rotorua, it doesn't get the smell of sulfar, at all. The property was beautiful and very well kept up, both inside and out and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back and recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMO-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful B & B. The view from the property is breathtaking and we were made so welcome. Christine the owner was so accommodating nothing was too much trouble for her. The gardens are just beautiful, being a gardener myself I can appreciate the work that has gone into this garden. It is a 10 minute drive into town, it is worth it because the property has the feel of being right out in the country with nothing else around, but you are really close to all amenities with shops just down the road. Breakfast was served when you wanted it and something different every day. We stayed for four days, making it our base for the area. If you are looking for something different and not your usual motel, this is it.

Room Tip: The Parisien Rooms is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
602 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed 4 nights this stunning B&B in the very comfortable quail room.This quiet place with gorgeous grounds is owned by Christine,a very helpful hostess,a good cook but also a great gardener.During our stay we felt like at home.Highly recommended!

Room Tip: if you can afford it,book the large quail room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
379 reviews
4.7 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing