We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #4 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I were part of a Collette Vacations' group traveling to Australia and New Zealand. Collette arranged a home stay in Rotorua. We were fortunate to be selected to stay at Christine's beautiful B&B. It was one of the highlights of our trip! It was a one-night stay but we made the most of it. The gardens and grounds are absolutely beautiful even though it was autumn. The view is breathtaking! Before dinner we fed the pet donkeys -- a "first" for us. Then we had a fantastic dinner with great conversation. Christine is a wonderful hostess -- we were made to feel like old friends. We learned many things about New Zealand. We also swapped stories with Christine about our families. The house itself is very beautiful but also comfortable and cozy. We had a lovely bedroom with an en-suite bathroom. You will be very happy if you stay with Christine!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Lovely B&B above Rotorua in a beautiful house with a scenic panorama over the area.

The bedrooms are elegantly decorated and the en-suite facilities are great.

Christine was very accommodating and we learned a lot about the way of life in New Zealand. She also made some great recommendations on places to visit. The recommended GlowWorm trip by Spellbound in Waitomo was great.

We very much enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TwisterBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had just returned from NZ recently and I had spent a wonderful night at this B & B. This stay was arguably the most memorable experience of our whole 1.5 months trip in NZ. The best B & B ever. The place might be quite a long drive journey from the city of Rotorua, but it was worth in the end! It was so comfy, with such an awesome spectacular view and with star gazing at the night, with cute adorable donkeys in the stall, what more can i ask for, when Christine is such a good host? And she is such an excellent cook! And thanks to her, we managed to tour the best attractions in Taupo and Rotorua with her valuable first-hand experiences! Doolan's Country Retreat, the fitting name. Thank Christine for being a wonderful host and for giving us a home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShiYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just returned from a trip to New Zealand (North) and one of our most memorable experiences was our stay with Christine. Doolan's country retreat was certainly a fitting name, it really felt like a retreat away from outside world, with it magnificent scenery (the place as on higher grounds overlooking the lake and lands), beautiful gardens, serene environment, cute donkeys, comfortable and clean room, not to mention a most gracious and admirable host who manages the entire grounds herself and does a most fantastic job. We really regretted not being able to stay longer and are already looking forward to our next visit there. If you are staying in Rotorua, you will not regret spending part of your stay here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleSLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We just loved our three days at Doolan's. Felt like family the whole time. Christine is the ultimate homestay hostess--charming, interesting, talented, fun, and what a cook! She was enormously helpful in directing us to places we never would have known about without her help. The house is stunning, and the grounds are just lovely. Every bedroom is gorgeous. Do give this place a go!

Room Tip: Only one room has a bath in the hallway. I'd be sure to choose one of the other three bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise CA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here in early March and so glad we did. The host, Christine, is a joy..so friendly and made us feel right at home. She was a delight and suggested a walking tour of Rotorua with a local guide and we were so glad we did. It was a perfect afternoon. While the White Dove room is a little small, the amenities were perfect. The gardens and views were spectacular and the food delicious. We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quite, comfortable stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just 1 night and it was one of the best BnB we have stayed at.
Christine made us feel warm and welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Beds were great and everything very clean and tidy.

Its a short drive into town for dinner (15min).

Being out of town you don't get the sulphur smell.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoistheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing