We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic first B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic first B&B experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were only planning to stay at Mokoia Downs Rotorua for 3 nights, but ended up spending 6 nights there, all thanks to Mick and Teresa's hospitality. It was the first time we ventured away from the regular 5 star hotels to B&B, but our Mokoia Downs stay was so wonderful, we are now looking forward to our next B&B vacation. I am very particular about cleanliness, but the place is spotlessly clean. Sumptuous breakfast every morning. Teresa took special care to ensure that my picky eating toddler had something to eat everyday. We got to feed the donkeys, ducks, hens and fish every morning, part of the highlight of our NZ trip. The hosts gave thoughtful suggestions on places to visit and dine: they took into consideration our interests, places we have visited and enjoyed, and even the weather forecast. Rotorua is a beautiful place to visit with lots to do, but our Mokoia Downs experience made the trip an especially enjoyable one.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BiCaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
133
153
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Mick & Teresa were like family and we had a wonderful time. Our kids loved the farm - got to feed the chickens, pet the animals and run around the huge property, which is just not the case at our home in the city. Teresa is a wonderful cook and we had a delicious breakfast that included fresh bread, warm just out of the oven, and freshly-made yogurt along with lots of other goodies. There were little baked treats in the room after we returned from 2 long days of sight-seeing. They had things for every age - toys & dolls, books, movies and the farm. They also gave us good tips for places to eat dinner and for sight-seeing. I'm a cellist and miss playing when I'm on vacation, and they brought a little cello out for me to play. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonconvento
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mokoia Downs is a little way north of Rotorua, away from the sulphur stink of the town itself. It is an idyllic spot with a large paddock/garden area containing donkeys, sheep, chickens and ducks. Mick and Teresa are excellent, entertaining and interesting hosts who have emigrated to New Zealand from the UK. As other reviewers have remarked, the breakfasts are wonderful. Our room and bathroom were comfortable and well equipped but not luxurious.We spent two nights here and would recommend Mokoia Downs unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

It is an ultimate B&B experience, and it is fantastic! We really cannot ask for more. The home is built with love which takes everyone need into consideration - do check out the movie room, kids playing room and the veranda which is perfect for a sunny day chill out. Service is extremely professional and it comes with wonderful personal touch! Tressa and Mick are simply amazing people. They are your most trustworthy advisors for trip planning in the area and best accompany for a fire side chat ( about everything)! It is a home we wish to return to.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend while we were travelling in Rotorua and the area. Mick and Teresa were the perfect hosts; they knew the area very well and had excellent recommendations with all the tours/trips we wanted to do whilst in the area. They also provided us with excellent company and conversation; it felt more like staying with family friends.

Everything that has been said about the breakfast is not enough; the breakfast was homemade (and homegrown), plentiful and delicious. After eating, all you wanted to do is roll back to the very comfortable room and nap rather than explore.

As our first B&B experience, it has set a very high standard that I dont think will be easily met. We would 100% come back if we travel through Rotorua again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely best B&B you could wish for. Breakfast is overwhelming, sure you will skip your lunch after this one. Location convenient to town, but quiet and great property. We had the garden house. Good for our family (4). Free wifi, feeding the animals (sheep, donkey, chicken etc.), treasure hunt for the kids, complimentary drinks, movie theatre, and above all: friendliness of the hosts/owners. Really feel at home and now already - with two more weeks to go - highlight of our journey.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hagenbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My three children (Aged 10, 6, 5) had a wonderful time here. The kids loved the play area, roaming around the section and of course, the fabulous hosts. We watched a movie on the 'big screen', where I was presented with one of Mick's famous tipples (which was perfect). The following morning, we were presented with a brilliant breakfast. But wait, there was more to come.....Teresa took the kids around the farm to feed the hens, ducks, sheep and donkeys. Then just when it couldn't get much better, she had organised a scavenger hunt for them. Prior to leaving, some suitable activities for us were suggested. We did both and thoroughly enjoyed them, thank you. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Luckily there is always next time :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stifffknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.8 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing