We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about this place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Peace & quiet in the most tranquil of countryside locations. Farm animals roaming the beautiful grounds. A swimming pool. A kids play area. A mini-cinema. Wonderful breakfasts which include many homegrown fruits. A great house complete with a well stocked bar. And Mick & Theresa, the charismatic, uber-helpful hosts with the most.

Mokoia Downs is a gem of a B&B, don't even think about staying anyplace else in Rotorua :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hombrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
156
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Staying at Mokoia Downs was amazing! Teresa and Mick are just the sweetest people and their home is a wonderful place for people of all ages. Our daughters enjoyed playing with the farm animals and in the giant play room, we all enjoyed the amazing breakfast (YUMMY!) and the nice atmosphere. We also loved meeting the other guests from all over the world.
We highly recommend staying here for a few nights and use it as a "base" station for tours in and around Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraG030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in Mokoia Downs on December 25 & 26, 2012; it was perfect. Rotorua is one of the most beautiful towns in the world. Staying in Mokoia Downs Estate B&B makes it complete.

The hospitality of Mick & Teresa shines through the whole time from the moment we book to the moment we bid farewell. The daily breakfast is made with the freshest ingredients - eggs laid by happy hens raised in their backyard; strawberries and herbs picked the day from their garden, fresh bread still hot out of the oven. Freshly baked cakes and cookies, hot coffee and tea await our return from the day's activities. What more you can ask?

Yes, there is more: in this place, we feel the magic spirit of the living - the trees, the flowers, the ducks, the hens and the donkeys, the creek, the air and the loving care of the owners to this estate. In this place, we are touched by nature's harmony and the connectedness of every living thing big and small.

We highly recommend that you experience it yourself.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rotorua is one of the most beautiful towns in the world. However, you must stay in a first class place like Mokoia Downs Estate B&B to make it a complete experience.

The hospitality of Mick & Teresa shines through the whole time from the moment we book to the moment we bid farewell. The daily breakfast is made with the freshest ingredients - eggs laid by happy hens raised in their backyard; strawberries and herbs picked the day from their garden, fresh bread still hot out of the oven. Freshly baked cakes and cookies, hot coffee and tea await our return from the day's activities. What more you can ask?

Yes, there is more: in this place, we feel the magic spirit of the living - the trees, the flowers, the ducks, the hens and the donkeys, the creek, the air and the loving care of the owners to this estate. In this place, we are touched by nature's harmony and the connectedness of every living thing big and small.

We highly recommend that you experience it yourself.

-Sailan from USA

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was so nice to go back to Mokoia Downs. We love it there! So peaceful and quiet and relaxing!
As always Mick and Theresa were great hosts and they made our stay at Mokoia very comfortable. It is so nice to be able to go somewhere on your holiday and feel like home!
Love it! We will definitely come back...the 3 of us this time:d
Such a shame I couldn't' t try Theresa's Irish coffee this time....
Mick and Theresa -thank you for organizing the New Years Eve party for us and for joining us in the celebrations!
Thank you,
Madalina and Liviu

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madalina_dunaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Not long enough! We were warmly greeted by Teresa & Mick and we immediately felt at home. Our hosts could not have done anything more to make our stay at Mokoia Downs more memorable. They gave us invaluable advice and arranged excursions for us. They could not have been more helpful. The accomodation was excellent and the food superb; Teresa's homemade treats and Mick's breakfast specials are guaranteed to satisfy everyone. The evening drink at the in-house bar provided the opportunity to get to know our hosts better and what a fantastic couple they are. We were very sad to leave after our short but memorable stay and we can recommend this gem of a place. It was the highlight of our stay on the North Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our family of five stayed for 4 nights at Mokoia Downs. What a gem of a find !Beautiful grounds which we wish we had more time to enjoy, the animals, the comfortable rooms, the wonderful aroma of fresh bakes, delicious breakfast spread, drinks in the evening, great conversations and help with places to visit. Mick and Teresa naturally made all of us feel so at home, our children still talk about Poopsie the Hen, Sharon the Sheep, yummy home made brownies etc. Our 4 year old son requested for "soft-boiled eggs", something we regularly make for breakfast at home but totally unfamilliar to our hosts, and he got it ! Another plus point is that Mokoia Downs is excellently located, minutes away from the places we visited, and downtown Rotorua. Fantastic ! A place we would highly recommend to anyone visiting this part of beautiful New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybil767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
6.3 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing