We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Excellent couple of days. Mick and Teresa are ideal hosts and we would recommend this B & B to anyone. Clean, tidy and very enjoyable. Good luck with your business. Regards, Ian and Linda Wright.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 390 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B with our 17 months old son. Very hospitable and welcoming hosts, who make you feel at home. Very nice relaxed place, in beautiful surroundings, and we enjoyed great breakfast, afternoon cake and true irish coffee from our Irish host Teresa!

Room Tip: If you stay with a child, book the two rooms at the back together, works out great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstridEnJoost T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mokoia Downs.  Teresa and Mick are great hosts, helpful, engaging and easy to be with them.  We liked the Solarium, swimming pool, Tv Room and dining on the terrace.  If you are there on Thursdays, pick up some take out at the night market and dine on the terrace back at Mokoia Downs.  The location is great, halfway between our two favorites, Aorangi Peak Restaurant and Hamurana Springs.  Also, no sulphur smell at this location.  Great breakfasts, all fresh, local and homemade.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bepsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Location:

A short drive north of the center of Rotorua (10 min) the B&B is situated in a small street and in this street a bit back from it. The entrance is easily overlooked and then you drive a small path up to be greeted by the very friendly hosts. It is a very quiet area so sleep will be wonderful.Opposite there is a meadow with grazing sheep, also a very nice sight.

Hosts:

This is how a B&B should be run. We were greeted with friendliness, help, a tour of the house, some selfmade cookies, coffee and chocolate. We were asked what our plans were and were given good advice on what to see in the town and on our further way and the Hangi for the evening was arranged for us. We did get a predinner drink and when we came back from the Hangi (there was a hailstorm that day) we were invited to the fireplace to share a hot chocolate and had a nice chat. In the morning they served us a wonderful breakfast and reconfirmed our plans.

House:

A very big communal area kitchen, firplace, living room, wintergarden, a large library so ample of space together with a very well stocked bar (several years worth of duty free as we were told)

Breakfast:

We did get a wonderful home made musli (freshly roasted), a large fruit platter, toast with home made marmelade, and the eggdish is in the top 5 of my life (I am a regular visitor to 5 star hotels with three star michelin kitchen). We were well and truly stuffed by the end of it. If you plan to stay more nights, be prepared to gain some weight.

Rooms:

A cosy bedroom and a nice bath with good amenities, a lot of towels and a lot of details in the decoration so it really looked like your own place. A bit on the small side but with the large communal area and the very friendly hosts we staid there only for sleeping in a very nice bed.

All in all if you are looking for a place to stay close to Roturua this place is perfect and certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed as a family of three (with a 12 year old son) for three nights as part of a North Island holiday that also included time in various other types of accommodation.

Expectations were high because Mokoia Downs has had some great reviews. Well here's another one, thoroughly deserved by hosts - Mick and Teresa - who provided a quiet, comfortable and most of all hospitable base for our time in Rotorua.

It was lovely being a little way out town, on a property that was quiet and tranquil.
We occupied the room that is separate from the main house, which worked very well for us, and would also have worked well for a couple who wanted just a little more privacy than you get staying in a main house.

Our son loved the home theatre room (which is away from the accommodation), and like his parents also enjoyed using the pool, eating the superb breakfasts, and just spending time chatting to our hosts, who are in the B&B game because they enjoy meeting and getting to know people from around the world; our conversations covered subjects ranging from world history, to travel, premier league football, malt whisky, and even gardening, we had some great chats.

We were the odd ones out, in that we were New Zealanders at a B&B run by a British/Irish couple, and which attracts a mainly international clientele, but that was fun too.

We enjoyed eating in one night – bringing back food to BBQ – and took our hosts advice on a restaurant for one night. It was so good we returned there another night. We had pretty much worked out what we wanted to do in Rotorua before coming, but had we not been so well organised, Mick and Teresa would have had plenty of good ideas to put into the mix.

If you want to stay in a quality B&B where the hosts go the extra mile in every way, as much because they are genuinely interested in people as because they are in business, then you will not be disappointed by Mokoia Downs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is the best a B&B can offer - wonderful hospitality from the hosts Mick and Teresa that makes you feel truly at home, amazing breakfasts and spotlessly clean comfortable rooms. We stayed for 4 nights over New Year with our two kids and by the time we left it was like saying goodbye to old friends. We celebrated our son's 6th birthday and knowing that he is an avid Starwars fan Mick and Teresa went off to video library to hire the DVD so that we could watch it in their 'cinema' room and they joined us for birthday cake and even had a card and present for our boy, who was over the moon. Teresa is a natural with young kids, getting them involved with feeding the hens and collecting the eggs each morning. All in all a very memorable and relaxing stay. Thanks Mick and Teresa!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Mokoia over Christmas and it was lovely. The 2 bedroom suite was clean, comfortable and private for us and our teens, and we had plenty of other space in the house, including a well stocked library (DVDs too) and use of the kitchen and grill for a barbecue. The food was outstanding and plentiful, and we had wonderful conversations with our hosts, Theresa and Mick. Highly recommended. Better than any other B&B that we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia_expats_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
6.7 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $188 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing