We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Warm and friendly welcome from the hosts, and we were shown around the house even though we arrived extremely early. Warm, clean, spacious and very cosy rooms with all amenities and more. The Estate even has a media studio and a pool which we unfortunately didn’t have the time to experience. Great advice/ map / directions given by Mick and Teresa on arrival and to top the experience a great Breakfast with homemade muesli, delicious bread, yoghurt, croissants with eggs and many more that I couldn’t find the space in my stomach to try. Overall great B&B and I would definitely stay there again. FM: Tari & Sasa

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tari84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
133
153
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Wonderful breakfast - such a welcome change from the usual b&b food: delicious, tailor made smoothies, home made yoghurt, toasted muesli and bread. More was offered that we didn't have room to try. The room was comfortable, with an excellent bathroom - all spotlessly clean. The outdoor pool was welcome and the grounds beautiful and relaxing. There's even a cinema, but we didn't have time to use that! The hosts were genuinely lovely people: very friendly, accommodating and interesting to chat with. We stayed two nights and found it difficult to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

There are not enough good things to say about Mokoia Downs Estate Bed and Breakfast. Everything exceeded our expectations! An exhaustive list of their virtues could fill volumes. Mick and Teresa are excellent hosts and fantastic people. They treated our children and us like family.

The rooms were comfortable and the 2 room suite was perfect for our family of four. They had wonderful common areas with a great selection of books and movies. They served a wonderful varied breakfast with all kinds of treats and surprises. They gave us full access to their kitchen, which is very nice with snacky little kids. Teresa left us a treat everyday for our afternoon tea. She even made us a special rhubarb pie after I mentioned how much I love rhubarb. We had a local babysitter watch our kids on site and when we were running late returning Mick and Teresa played with our 2 1/2 year old and 9 month old until we returned.

Mick and Teresa gave us excellent advice on things to do and places to eat. The Bed and Breakfast is located north of Rotorua but the location is actually much better suited for most of the attractions in the area. We could not have been happier!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motril
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

What a lovely experience. We were recommended to Mokoia Downs by another local B & B who were full and what great advice that was. Wonderful hospitality and with genuine meaning. No plastic "Have a nice day" but a genuine desire to ensure that we truly enjoyed our stay. Loads of extras such as returning from a long day sight-seeing to find home-made scones waiting for you. The guests are encouraged to treat the hose as a home from home and we spent several happy hours chatting over drinks. Could we recommend others to Mokoia Downs? Absolutely as we know that any one else will leave feeling as we did.
GREAT!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

A very enjoyable stay with ever attentive hosts in lovely accommodation and surroundings. Wonderful breakfast. We would return and shall recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We arrived in Rotorua after driving for several hours with tempers a little short and eager to get out of the car. After driving down a garden lane my husband and 2 adult daughters were met by Mick who greeted us, took our very heavy bags and showed us to our rooms.

The rooms were beautiful, all linens and decor brand new, with all the amenities, hairdryer, coffee and tea and reading lights on each side of the bed. The bathroom was new and had beautiful tile.

After checking in, Theresa invited us to have tea and buns, homemade and delicious and then they helped us to decide what to do since we were only going to be in Rotorua for one night.

They recommended a Maori tour including dinner and it was a highlight of our trip. When we returned, that night we were invited to share a glass of wine and chat. So fun.

For breakfast the next day, we had homemade smoothies, homemade bread and crepes with homemade strawberry yogurt. Delicious

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Excellent stay - From the moment you arrive to the moment you depart Mick & Teresa make you feel so welcome, the attention to detail is excellent from the rooms, the house, the gardens and especially the breakfast (smothies to die for and those pancakes) nothing is too much trouble. Excellent location just outside Rotorua in its own gardens, this is a very special home stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Stay 2 or 3 nights if you can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javelintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.8 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing