We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and shabby but spacious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwendoline Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gwendoline Court Motel
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
new zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old and shabby but spacious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The unit is very spacious with an upstairs bedroom and has (almost) everything you need (no frying pan, no hairdryer and some other things missing in ours though); it has a very big spa outside and a huge bathroom. However, most of the furniture/sheets/sofas are really old and sometimes dirty or stained. If you're like us and don't normally spend a lot of time in the room or are not really fussy, it's ok and I guess you can put up with it for a few nights. It's about 2/3 km from the centre of Rotorua so if you don't have a car it's quite far away. We stayed for a few nights and the units were 'cleaned' daily but the floors were never swept, the bed was never made and the coffee/tea/sugar never refilled.The lady at reception was helpful and the wifi is really fast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback

We do service the rooms daily, and when we service the rooms the beds are made, dishes are washed and the floors cleaned. I am extremely disappointed that we did not service your room correctly during your stay, and we have addressed this at the motel level.

A new staff member had not been adequately trained in servicing rooms, we have now trained the new staff member to ensure it does not happen again

We appreciate your comments about the sofa, and we will be addressing this in the near future, as we look to replace them

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    16
    20
    63
See reviews for
59
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Disgusting - the rooms were dirty, the carpet threadbare. Broken or missing tiles around the spa and the spas filter kicks in at around 4.30 am. That combined with the general noise from other residents and the road made for a terrible night. Also, we booked (and paid for) 2 queen beds and arrived to find one queen that looked as though the mattress hadn't been changed in 50 yrs and a fold out lounge that was from the same era. We stayed 1 night as we arrived at 10.30 pm, but left by 7.00 the next morning. Highly recommend you do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V9118DQMichael_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate your feedback

We understand that you had requested two queen beds in the room, unfortunately we do not have this configuration in any of the rooms, the rooms have a queen and single bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs.

I do appreciate the comment about the spa pool, we have found that the timer had been set incorrectly and did start to run in the middle of the night, I am extremely sorry about this, we have now corrected the timer on the spa pool

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this property because they allow animals and they were offering a cheap rate.
We were in unit 10.

The positives are that the units are huge they have their own thermal pool and the reception lady is polite and willing to help.

Shower had good pressure.

The bad.

This place is DIRTY. Kitchen was filthy and the cups in the room were so stained and dirty that I would not let my family use them. The electric hobs were filthy and the telephone was yellow with grime. I found a half drunk glass of water in the fridge and crusty dirty ice that I emptied for them.

The cleaners are appalling as when I sat down on chair I found a cough lolly, there was hair in the bed that we had not slept in (we used our sleeping bags and own pillows), brown marks all over the walls and stains all over the carpet.


The TV in my unit was not tuned in (although reception lady did come to do it).


The sheets had holes in them as did the chairs and everything was just so dirty.

I would like to end on a positive because the rooms were a good size and we only paid $107 for 2 adults and a Labrador. If this place was cleaned properly I would not have minded the tatty rooms so much.

I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have cleaned the room and take your own bedding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailertroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Since your response we have moved to hired linen, all our linen now comes from Linen Apparell so the sheets are clean, fresh and pressed

We are disappointed that you experienced some housekeeping issues, we have recently spring cleaned all the rooms, and I am sure you will find them extremely clean

Thank you for your feedback

kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!!!!! walked in and was horrified the carpets were thread bear, the couch covers were older than I am (37) went up the stairs the bed looked as someone had been sleeping in it ( 2 pillows only positioned in middle of bed and blankets bunched up as if someone had just got out of it) ripped sheets, curtains hanging up by about 4 hooks instead of usual 20 odd, the furniture looked like it had been purchased off the side off road ( people putting out free stuff) my daughter pulled couch cover off her bed only to find the blankets were all stained!!!! Went and spoke to manager told her we were not snobby but this place was beyond a joke!!!! have seen uni student accommodation looking better than this!!!! she agreed!!! and looked at our sheet then informing us it was a non cancellation room and we would be charged for the 2 nights still, we disputed this and went away and rang booking.com (with which we had booked thru) they contacted management and agreed we would only be charged for one night. We went further down the road and got a room at the Rydges for only $20 more a night !!! ASK YOURSELF JUST SAYING!!!!

MY ADVICE....Stay well away from here (it will ruin your break away) and don't book with a non cancellation term!!! I have since investigated and have realised the owners of this motel own other motels as well so I can only imagine what they are also like!!! The pictures we saw over the net reflected not one resemblance of what we were given.... cancellation fees should not apply when you have actually turned up and the standards of the accommodation are way below minimum expectations!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
It is very disappointing to receive your comments, clearly in this instance we did not meet your expectations

Since your stay in January we have moved to hired linen, we can now confidently say that we have clean/ fresh and well pressed linen.

We have not ungraded the future yet, but we now have plans to upgrade some of the future to provide a more modern look

Our rooms are very clean, and we now have supervisors check the rooms to ensure they are clean

We appreciate your comments, and believe that we have made changes that you would appreciate

We do hope that you will again consider staying at our motel, we assure you of over best service

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

cobwebs falling everywhere, wood broken round spa (dangerous) both my daughter and i got glass splinter in our feet!, no towels had to ask, no toilet paper renewed, massive cockroach under cushion on downstairs bed, stove filthy, no internet, no dvd which it said it had, ant explosion in kitchen, so all in all not a very pleasant 3 nights!! will not go back, oh on the plus side the lady on reception was very nice

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend at all and i am not that fussy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

It appears your room was not serviced correctly during your stay, we have now put a new system in place to ensure that daily services are checked by the supervisor.

We understand that you had some housekeeping issues and we have resolved these.

We do hope we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I only hope someone reads this before booking this disastrous accommodation. The place was FILTHY. Carpets threadbare, toilets filthy, cigarette burns, torn curtains, infested with ants. Luxury???? What a joke. Other reviews stated this place was tatty 3 years ago, you can only imagine what it looks like now. Like a squatters den. Completely ruined our visit, and at $150 for the night, I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in January

We appreciate your comments, and the issues you have raised have been resolved

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes it's a bit tired and needs a make over but very clean & spacious.
Everything was in order and the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were very comfortable and lovely and fresh. The spa area could do with a water blast but it was great to have a spa at the end of the night and we found it refreshing. Shame it was not mineral water but great non the less.
I have read other reviews on this place and was a bit dumb founded by them quite frankly, maybe we had one of the better ones ?ours was the one in the front closest to the road and while it was a bit noisy in the morning it was to be expected. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Land007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

The Gwendoline is a Great place to stay, and great to hear that you found the rooms clean and fresh

We accept some of the furniture needs to be updated and we are starting to plan and start a program replacing the furniture shortly

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#70 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#81 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#59 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#86 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Property: Gwendoline Court Motel
Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing